Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: surrounding
(82 results)

Display: 20

    • Sacrafornian, 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • Founded in 1876 by the Brothers of the Christian Schools at the southwest corner of Twelfth and K Streets, Christian Brothers School has held subsequent locations at Twenty-First and Broadway, and 4315 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard. After a...
    • Anybody's Magazine Vol.1 No.2

    • June 1906
    • Anybody’s Magazine (also referenced in the publication is Sacramento Home Monthly) was a short lived monthly publication, created in Sacramento, California. It charged readers $1.00 a year for a subscription, with single copies running for 10...
    • Waldo E. Julian Residence

    • 1900
    • Waldo E. Julian's residence, at 1618 M Street, is the focus of this circa 1900 photograph. The sidewalk along the south side of M Street, between Sixteenth and Seventeenth streets, is made of wood planks, and a small girl stands in front of the...
    • 1944
    • Greenback Notes, 1925

    • 1925-01-01
    • San Juan Union High School is located at 7551 Greenback Lane in Citrus Heights, California. Founded in 1913, it stands as Sacramento County’s second oldest high school behind that of Sacramento High School, established in 1856. The school’s...
    • High Lights, 1931

    • 1931-01-01
    • A canny businessman and idealistic philanthropist, David Lubin and his brother-in-law Harris Weinstock made Weinstock-Lubin the Sacramento area’s best-known and most popular mercantile establishment for over a century. By the time of his death in...
    • Robert Frost at Central Library Groundbreaking

    • 1988
    • Shown in 1988 is the Sacramento City Library Reference Librarian Robert Foster making his way though the festivities surrounding the groundbreaking for the new expansion of the Central Branch of the Sacramento City Library, located at 828 I Street.
    • PH-SPL-CEN-15-13
    • Shade Trees on H Street, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1920
    • This circa 1920 postcard reveals a tree-shrouded stretch of H Street. Near this time, the deputy State Forester of California, Alexander Dodge, remarked, in the July 24, 1929, Sacramento Bee, at "how dependent Sacramento is upon her surrounding...
    • BBSAC586
    • The Review, October 1908

    • 1908-10-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    • Venue for Central Library Groundbreaking

    • 1988
    • This 1988 image shows citizens readying for festivities surrounding the groundbreaking for the expansion of the Central Branch of the Sacramento City Library, located at 828 I Street. In the background looms the Ruhstaller Building, located at the...
    • PH-SPL-CEN-15-14
    • Beautiful California Garden, William Land Park, Sacramento

    • 1930
    • The floral gardens at William Land Park were the recipients of loving care from dedicated park employees and volunteers who delivered the daily care often required. City Parks and Recreation employees included foremen for crews devoted to...
    • BBSAC592
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • February 05, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    • Installation Team B.P.O.E.

    • 1930
    • Taken in the Elks Club, this is a formal posed group photograph of the installation team of the B.P.O.E. The eight members are identified as follows. Back Row: Paul Cruise, Grand Lecturing Knight. Arthur L. Case, Grand Chaplain. Carl Daseking,...
    • 1693


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search