Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: signature
(33 results)



Display: 20

    • Anybody's Magazine Vol.1 No.5

    • September 1906
    • Anybody’s Magazine (also referenced in the publication is Sacramento Home Monthly) was a short lived monthly publication, created in Sacramento, California. It charged readers $1.00 a year for a subscription, with single copies running for 10...
    •  
    • Themis

    • March 24, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • The Wasp

    • July 23, 1898
    • The San Francisco Wasp – based at 514 Market Street – operated as a colorful publication “of illustration and comment,” running from 1876 to 1941. The digitized pages are from July 23, 1898 and February 20, 1904 issues. Founded by the Bohemian...
    •  
    • The Review, June 1898

    • 1898-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Official Gazette

    • April 15, 1918
    • In April 1915, Sacramento’s City Commission, a governing body that had been in place since July 1912, set itself to transparency with the release of its Official Gazette (known also as the Municipal Gazette). Founded through unanimous vote from the...
    •  
    • The Visitor

    • July 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • K Street, Toward the Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament

    • 1913
    • A bustling scene on K Street was captured in this 1913 photograph. A horse and wagon in the photograph’s foreground contrasts a slowly shifting paradigm toward the use of automobiles. Sidewalks are lined with pedestrians. In the background and...
    • 1365
    • K Street

    • 1913
    • Busy street scene looking east on K Street. Many pedestrians and vehicles are in this photo. There is a horse and wagon in the foreground and female pedestrians crossing K Street at Tenth Street. The Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament is in the...
    • 2224
    • The Review, March 1909

    • 1909-03-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Library Staircase

    • 1965
    • As seen from the reference room, this circa 1965 photograph shows the signature spiral staircase at the main branch of the Sacramento City Library, located at 828 I Street.
    • PH-SPL-CEN-8-13
    • The Review, December 1909

    • 1909-12-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Oaks at Sylvan Oaks Branch

    • 1976
    • A grove of north Sacramento County’s signature oaks shroud the front of the Sylvan Oaks Branch, located at 6700 Auburn Boulevard, in this circa 1976 image. As stated in a 1975 promotional document “Surrounded by ancient oaks, the branch occupies a...
    • PH-SPL-SYL-1-15
    • Gate to Oak Park, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1905
    • This circa 1905 postcard shows Oak Park and Joyland's signature entrance arch, located at Thirty-Fifth Street and Fifth Avenue, the latter originally known as Park Avenue. It was erected in 1903 by the California Gas and Electric Company, which...
    • BBSAC574
    • Bell Conservatory Company

    • 1900
    • Shown is a circa 1900 advertisement for the Bell Conservatory, located at Tenth and Y Streets. The structure's signature green-tinted roof was made of Tiffany glass, imported from Belgium. It was torn down in 1954.
    • EC-BUS-b02f03i02
    • Florida Inn Motel

    • 1938
    • This June 21, 1938, photograph captures the Florida Inn Motel, located at 6150 Auburn Boulevard. Owned by Henry and Ann Coldani, the Florida was a classic roadhouse, offering its signature half-fried chicken, some of the best parties and live...
    • 578
    • Bedell's

    •  
    • From 1939 until 1961 Edwin Bedell's Restaurant at 1117 11th Street rivaled the long-established Hotel Senator and later the El Mirador Hotel and Posey's Cottage as a gathering place and watering hole for the political elite in the Capitol City....
    • BBSAC638

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK