Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: replaced
(74 results)



Display: 20

    • Themis

    • March 21, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Regal Distributing Company From the Tower Bridge

    • 1937
    • Taken November 1,1937, this photograph was snapped on the Tower Bridge, which replaced the old M street bridge, looking east down M Street. Regal Distributing Company, distributor of Regal Amber Lager Beer and located at 1301 Front Street, is the...
    • 1846
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • January 29, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Elk 1915

    • 1915-01-01
    • Growing children with no available outlet for further education was incentive enough for sixteen elementary school districts to establish California’s first union high school in Elk Grove. The initial building was housed in what is now Old Town...
    •  
    • Ferry Crossing the Sacramento River, Near Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1895
    • This circa 1895 postcard shows a ferry crossing along the Sacramento River. Long a staple of pioneer transportation throughout Sacramento County -- the first recorded Delta operation being in 1848 -- the State of California slowly replaced ferries...
    • BBSAC680
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • The Visitor

    • June 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • February 05, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Review, June 1914

    • 1914-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Review, 1924

    • 1924-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Review, 1944

    • 1944-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Review, November 1911

    • 1911-11-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • February 12, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Saint Patrick’s Home for Children

    • 1932
    • This November 3, 1932, photograph shows the Saint Patrick’s Home for Children at 5945 Franklin Boulevard. The 250,000 dollar structure was dedicated on August 1, 1932, and received its first tenants three weeks later. It replaced a similar...
    • 1394
    • Sacramento City College Library

    • 1998
    • This frontal view of the Learning Resource Center at Sacramento City College taken in the fall of 1998. The 18 million dollar, three-story structure replaced the previous library that had been built in 1937. After 12-years of debate - posing...
    • 2007
    • The Review, 1935

    • 1935-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Our Congratulations to You

    • 1920
    • This charming circa 1920 promotional postcard was produced by the Dunn and Frazier Company, a purveyor of furniture, located on Ninth Street between K and L streets. Originally operated by Canadian-born Samuel Dunn and C.W. Frazier, the latter...
    • BBSAC740
    • The Home Designer

    • March 1923
    • Shown above is an issue of The Home Designer. Established by architect Walter W. Dixon (1884-1953) and German-born builder R.C. Hillen (1883-1955) in June 1921, the Oakland-based, monthly publication sought to increase the “interest of the average...
    •  
    • McKinley School, 1914

    • 1914
    • Serious but beguiling eyes look toward the camera in this 1914 photo from McKinley School at Seventh and “G.” The school replaced the venerable Union School which was closed down just a decade earlier. With the growth of industry within and...
    • 2080
    • Interior of Swimming Baths, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1915
    • This circa 1915 sepia postcard shows the interior of the Riverside Baths, located at 3600 Riverside Boulevard. Built in 1909 and operating until 1937, the 100-yard-long pool was fed by a natural artesian well, and, at the time of their...
    • BBSAC763

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK