Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: redevelopment
(38 results)

Display: 20

    • Hotel Coloma and Metropolitan Department Store

    • 1960
    • This 1960 photograph shows a gaggle of businesses on the south side of K Street, between Fifth and Sixth Streets. The following businesses are visible: the Valley Hotel at 506-and-a-half K Street, People’s Clothing Store at 506 K Street, the...
    • 375
    • Sacramento Skyline with State Capitol, Sacramento, CA

    • 1980
    • In the years following World War II, Capitol Avenue was the focus of redevelopment efforts. When visitors entered the city from the west via the M Street Bridge, they had to drive through the middle of the west-end slums that lined both sides of...
    • BBSAC042
    • Sacramento from the Air Looking Down Capitol Avenue

    • 1996
    • In the years following World War II, Capitol Avenue was the focus of redevelopment efforts. When visitors entered the city from the west via the M Street Bridge, they had to drive through the middle of the west-end slums that lined both sides of...
    • BBSAC044
    • Public Art Sculpture at Wells Fargo Building

    • 1970
    • Taken in 1970, this photograph shows an unnamed sculpture and fountain done by Norman Grag. Located at the main branch of the Wells Fargo Bank at 500 Capitol Mall, the fountain was an example of the city's requirement that, in any building...
    • 462
    • Chief Engineer, City Fire Dep., Sacramento, CA

    • 1910
    • This circa 1910 postcard shows the Eureka Engine Company Number Four Fire House and the office of the Fire Department's Chief Engineer, located at 1017 Fifth Street. The building was constructed in 1855 and survived until redevelopment in the...
    • BBSAC136
    • L street east of Fifth Street

    • 1960
    • Photo taken circa 1960 of the Hotel Delta at 511 L Street. The building included Sy's Hollywood Barbershop at 509 L Street. Next door, in the former Goodwin Tent Maker space, was the office of Sacramento Redevelopment (515 L Street).
    • 579
    • The Hub Hotel and Tavern

    • 1957
    • Taken in 1957, this photograph shows the weathered facades of the Hub Hotel and Tavern at 224 J Street and the Lincoln Room at 226 J Street. The building housing the Hub was erected by wholesale merchant and Kentuckian Edward P. Figg after the...
    • 19
    • Bank of America, Interior

    • 1921
    • This 1921 interior view of the Bank of America at 530 K Street shows two employees at work. They are surrounded by the safes, filing cabinets, and lighting fixtures of the era. The building was razed in 1968 under the dictates of redevelopment.
    • 83
    • Dave’s Men’s Store from Fourth and K Streets.

    • 1950
    • This 1962 photograph captures a razed lot between J and K Streets and Third and Fourth Streets. In the distance are Dave’s Men’s Store at 230 K Street and the Club Café Tavern at 231 K Street. Beyond that, one can see the spires of the Tower...
    • 77
    • Old Sacramento, California, B.F. Hastings & Co.

    • 1967
    • The B. F. Hastings Building at Second and J Streets in Old Sacramento was among the first structures designated as historic landmarks in 1958. In that year surveys were taken by the Sacramento Redevelopment Agency and the Sacramento Historic...
    • BBSAC956
    • Walnut Café and other Fifth and K Street Businesses

    • 1960
    • Taken in 1960, this photograph shows several storefronts, all on the north side of K Street. They include: Jewel Craft Loans at 515 K Street, the Walnut Café and Tavern at 517 K Street, the Owl Cigar Store at 519 K Street, the Palace Hotel at...
    • 180
    • Wonder Café

    • 1960
    • This 1960 photograph shows the inviting storefront of the Wonder Café at 1116 Seventh Street. The restaurant was operated by Mary Yee. To the far right of the frame is the P.C. Penney department store on the southwest corner of Seventh and K...
    • 270
    • Terzakis Brothers Tailors

    • 1960
    • Pictured in 1961, at 432 J Street, is the Terzakis Brothers’ tailoring shop. The brothers, Thomas and Nicholas, were natives of Greece, having immigrated to the United States in 1905, then moving to Sacramento in 1916. Nicholas previously owned...
    • 314
    • Wallis Apartments

    • 1952
    • The haggard Wallis Apartments, at 1300 Ninth Street, are shown in this July 1952 photograph. The 21-unit building, sitting on the southwest corner of Ninth Street and Capitol Avenue, was built before 1895 and expanded prior to 1915. It was razed...
    • 2439
    • Ramona Hotel and Businesses

    • 1960
    • Pictured in 1960 is the Ramona Hotel at Sixth and J Streets and several of its business tenants. Included in the photograph are Wong’s Café at 1011 Sixth Street, the Ramona Shoe Shop at 1013 Sixth Street, and the Office Hours Tavern at 1015 Sixth...
    • 271
    • Sacramento - Post Office, E.C. Kropp

    • February 27, 1908
    • This 1908 postcard shows Sacramento's Post Office and Federal Building, located at the northeast corner of Seventh and K streets. The structure was dedicated on George Washington's birthday, February 22, 1894. It was razed, in the name of...
    • BBSAC159
    • Confucius School

    • 1960
    • Pictured in 1961 is the recently constructed Confucius School at 901 Fourth Street. The school, attached to the Confucius Church, was built to accommodate up 160 students and teaching staff of seven. Its primary goal was to provide afterschool...
    • 1216
    • Rolling Green Motel - L.E. Lindholm

    • 1968
    • This circa 1968 postcard shows the Rolling Green Motel. The following description, taken from the postcard's back, promoted one of the many popular motels and lodges that once appeared at regular intervals along Sacramento-area main thoroughfare...
    • BBSAC473
    • Joe’s Club and Restaurant

    • 1960
    • Captured in this circa 1960 photograph is Joe’s Club at 503 and 507 K Street. Joe Yeargain was the business’s namesake and partial owner at the time this photograph was taken. The building in the background, and in the upper part of the frame, is...
    • 322
    • Fourth Street South of L Street

    • 1960
    • A 1960 photograph of the offices of Tom Furukawa, a realtor (1216B Fourth Street), and Dr. James J. Kubo, optometrist (1216A Fourth Street). The area was a part of the Japanese-American neighborhood before the construction of I-5 and redevelopment.
    • 328


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search