Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: razed
(52 results)



Display: 20

    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1928

    • 1928-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • Caravan Inn - An Albert Pick Motel

    • 1965
    • Shown in circa 1965, are the swimming pool, room units and front parking lot of the Caravan Inn on Auburn Boulevard at Bell Street. When this postcard was new Auburn Boulevard served as part of Highway 40 and was a main thoroughfare dotted with...
    • BBSAC437
    • Building on Eighth and K Streets after Fire

    • 2003
    • This digital image of a burned out Leroy’s Jewelers was taken on the evening of December 29, 2003. The building caught fire in May 2000, exacting over 150,000 dollars in damage and drawing a three alarm response of over 45 firefighters. Up to...
    • 2294a
    • Roma Tavern

    • 1960
    • Two women and a child walk past a part of town slated for change in this scene. The Berkshire Building is at the corner and automobiles are parked at the curb in front of the Roma, a tavern at 525 L Street in the center of this circa 1960...
    • 1388
    • Sacramento City College Library

    • 1998
    • This frontal view of the Learning Resource Center at Sacramento City College taken in the fall of 1998. The 18 million dollar, three-story structure replaced the previous library that had been built in 1937. After 12-years of debate - posing...
    • 2007
    • Bell Conservatory Co.

    • 1935
    • Pictured in circa 1935, at 931 Broadway, is a support structure for the Bell Conservatory Company, a longstanding spot for horticultural research and a supplier of floral goods in Sacramento, dating back to 1878. Covering six acres, the business...
    • 2165b
    • Hotel Coloma, Sacramento, Calif.

    • 1922
    • This circa 1922 postcard provides a view of the five-story, 144-unit, red brick Hotel Coloma, at 508 K Street. Built in 1912 as the Hotel Trow, the structure became the Coloma in 1921. It was razed, along with much of Fifth Street, during the...
    • BBSAC442
    • 406 11th Street, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1912
    • Pictured in 1912, is the 406 Eleventh Street home of German immigrant and widow Dorothea Schubert and her four daughters. The house was moved from Thirteenth and C in 1869. Prior to that, and between 1864 and 1869, it was the hospital of the...
    • BBSAC411
    • The Review, June 1918

    • 1918-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Hotel Savoy

    • 1960
    • The Hotel Savoy (422 J Street) sits wedged between a liquor store and a cash loaning operation, one of the lower level storefronts vacant. This 1960 photograph captures buildings that were a century old then, but the next few years would find all...
    • 600
    • Coral Reef Lodge

    •  
    • The Maleville brothers played an important role in establishing the Town and Country area of Sacramento and particularly Fulton Avenue, known from the 1940s through the 1960s as a thoroughfare loaded with quality eateries, lodges and nightclubs....
    • BBSAC444
    • Christian Brothers’ School Academic Building and Chapel

    • 1930
    • Pictured in 1930 is Christian Brothers’ School at Twenty-First and Y Streets. The ornate Mission Revival-style building was built in 1924 by the Sacramento contracting firm of W.C. Keating. Notable alumni include Superior Court judges Peter J....
    • 870
    • Seventh Street:  906 through 914

    • 1961
    • Emergency Bail Bond Service at 900 Seventh Street, Clyde's Office Supply at 906 Seventh Street, the American Typewriter Exchange at 908 Seventh Street, and the Sacramento County Free Library headquarters at 914 Seventh Street are all visible in...
    • 1614
    • Side View of the First Baptist Church

    • 1929
    • Pictured on January 16, 1929, at 2324 L Street is the First Baptist Church, as seen from the northeast corner of Twenty-Fourth and L Streets. Built that same year, the church’s auditorium was designed to seat up to 800 with a Sunday school room...
    • 481
    • Gibson Bus Lines Depot

    • 1952
    • Pictured in 1952 is the front of the Gibson Bus Lines depot at 1117 I Street. Four buses can be seen at the terminal, one bound for Chico and another for San Francisco. Built in 1944, the 33, 000 square foot structure operated as a bus depot until...
    • 133
    • Screen View, inside the Village Theater

    • 1959
    • This circa 1959 photograph shows the interior of the 903-seat Village Theater at 2925 Fulton Avenue. Set within Jere Strizek’s rustic Town and County Village shopping center, the Village was one of Sacramento’s original suburban movie houses,...
    • 804a

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK