Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: ownership
(29 results)



Display: 20

    • Land Park Pony Ride

    • 1980
    • Ponies stand at their stables at William Land Park in this 1980 photograph. At the time the picture was taken, rides were operated by Norma Ryon, who operated them under the moniker Wishing Star Ponies. Within five years, ownership would be...
    • 1957a
    • Del Pasado, 1934

    • 1934-01-01
    • The first local high school built north of the American River was a first in many ways, the result of a need for a school district to educate the far-flung school-age children in the area combined with the practical need for a civic center to bring...
    •  
    • Official Gazette

    • April 15, 1918
    • In April 1915, Sacramento’s City Commission, a governing body that had been in place since July 1912, set itself to transparency with the release of its Official Gazette (known also as the Municipal Gazette). Founded through unanimous vote from the...
    •  
    • El Mirador Hotel - Mike Roberts

    •  
    • The first major hotel built in downtown Sacramento since 1930, the El Mirador opened Deecember 5, 1957 at a cost of 1.8 million dollars under the ownership of builder-investor Fred Kaiser. Troubles early on forced the sale of "Sacramento's Luxury...
    • BBSAC449
    • Hotel Marshall, 7th and L Streets

    • 1952
    • Sitting at 1122 L Street, in circa 1952, is the Hotel Marshall. Built as the Clayton in 1910, the 100-unit structure, changed ownership and its name to the New Clayton in the 1930s, then the Marshall, just at the beginning of the 1950s.
    • BBSAC467
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • March 12, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Review, June 1908

    • 1908-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Union Iron Works

    • 1960
    • This 1960 photograph shows the Union Iron Works at 1415 Front Street. The business was founded in 1860, but was purchased by its highest-profile owner, Otto F. Link, in 1940. The Auburn-native went to work for Union in 1925, eventually working...
    • 281
    • Riolo’s Sport Shop

    • 1960
    • An inactive Riolo’s Sport Shop at 1016-and-a-half Sixth Street is shown in this 1960 photograph. The store was owned and operated by native-Sacramentan Sam Riolo for more than 35 years. Riolo and his brother, Theodore, both first generation...
    • 292
    • Oak Park, Sacramento, CA

    • 1910
    • One of the defining images of turn-of-the-century Sacramento was the gateway to Oak Park and Joyland, shown in this circa 1910 postcard. The inviting Oak Park entrance arch was constructed in 1903 by the California Gas and Electric Company,...
    • BBSAC575
    • Anybody's Magazine Vol.1 No.2

    • June 1906
    • Anybody’s Magazine (also referenced in the publication is Sacramento Home Monthly) was a short lived monthly publication, created in Sacramento, California. It charged readers $1.00 a year for a subscription, with single copies running for 10...
    •  
    • Bell Conservatory Co.

    • 1935
    • Pictured in circa 1935, at 931 Broadway, is a support structure for the Bell Conservatory Company, a longstanding spot for horticultural research and a supplier of floral goods in Sacramento, dating back to 1878. Covering six acres, the business...
    • 2165b
    • Mason's Steam Laundry

    • 1893
    • This circa 1893 photograph captures the staff of Mason’s Steam Laundry as they pose before the business’s complex at Twelfth and D Streets. The engines driving the business’s growth were native-German Fred Mason and his wife Caroline, a native of...
    • 411
    • Lavenson’s Shoes

    • 1939
    • The salon-like showroom of Lavenson’s Shoes at 1018-1020 K Street is shown in this June 17, 1939 photograph. The store was founded in 1877 by Gus Lavenson. By 1942 it was recognized as the oldest firm of its kind on the west coast under the same...
    • 453
    • The Review, February 1914

    • 1914-02-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Crystal Creamery, 1939

    • 1939
    • The entrance to the Crystal Creamery at 1013 D Street is captured in this August 13, 1939, photograph. The company was founded in 1901 by George Knox, but it was not until 1921 that the iconic Carl Hansen took ownership of the company. By 1931,...
    • 98
    • The Review, February 1921

    • 1921-02-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Murf’s Market

    • 1944
    • This photograph of Murf's Market at 1600 Broadway was taken on January 18, 1944. “Murf” was Albert J. Murphy, a Nebraska native and butcher who would eventually align his business with the Inks brothers and their various Cardinal grocery stores. ...
    • 144

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK