Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: organization’s
(154 results)



Display: 20

    • Turnverein Building

    • 1925
    • The Turnverein Building on 3349 J Street is the subject of this photograph, taken in 1925, the same year that the structure was built. The cornerstone for the 100,000 dollar building was laid on October 25, 1925, enabling the organization to move...
    • 970
    • YMCA Lobby & Reading Room, Sacramento, Cal.

    •  
    • Members of Sacramento's YMCA rest, read and chat amidst the first floor of the organization's headquarters on Fifth and J Streets. Built in 1913, the building stood as the YMCA's home until 1950, when the group moved to Twentieth and W Streets. ...
    • BBSAC164
    • Sacramento Senators Team Batboy

    • 1921
    • This photograph, taken in 1921, shows a batboy of the Sacramento Senators showing his stuff at Moreing Field. Sacramento’s first organized semi-professional baseball team was the Altas , who became the Senators in 1890, and played the 1891 and 1893...
    • 1480
    • California State Automobile Association Building

    • 1942
    • Pictured is the California State Automobile Association building as it sat on November 23, 1942, at the corner of Seventeenth and L Streets. Just six years earlier, thieves broke into the building and took the organization's safe which contained...
    • 36
    • Knights of Pythias

    • 1935
    • In this circa 1935 photograph, members of the Knights of Pythias march down L Street in close order. The organization's Sacramento chapter, Lodge 11, celebrated its 71-year anniversary in February 1935. Its castle-style headquarters was located...
    • 2018
    • International Footprint Association

    • 1936
    • This May 19, 1936, photograph, show four members of the International Footprint Association. The organization was founded in 1929 in an effort to strengthen bonds between law enforcement and the general public. At the time of the photograph,...
    • 741
    • Chris Fulster’s Cottage Cheese

    • 1937
    • Chris Fulster’s Cottage Cheese business at 2520 Y Street is captured in this circa 1937 photograph. A children, dressed in summer clothing, stand at either side of the store entrance and roses line a walkway that leads to the doorway. A native of...
    • 406
    • Sacramento Boat Club, Sacramento, California

    • 1905
    • Shown in circa 1905 is the Sacramento Boat Club, moored along the western bank of the Sacramento River, near Broderick. The pictured boathouse was constructed in 1892 when the organization was known as the Undine Boat Club. By 1912, the...
    • BBSAC701
    • The Review, June 1907

    • 1907-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Elk's Building, Sacramento, California - Edward H. Mitchell

    •  
    • The Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks was organized in New York early in 1868, originally comprised of thespians (actors) but soon open to all qualified potential members who believed in their stated goals. The name of the organization was...
    • BBSAC128
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • February 19, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Dorothy Drake at Main Branch

    • 1960
    • This circa 1960 photograph shows (center) Sacramento City Library director Dorothy Drake at the City Library’s main branch, located at 828 I Street. To the left is Delta Nu Alpha’s K.E. Hagemann. Also pictured in the Delta Nu Alpha’s D.W. Hynie....
    • PH-SPL-CEN-3-11
    • Nugget, 1938

    • 1938-01-01
    • C.K. McClatchy Senior High School is located at 3066 Freeport Boulevard in Sacramento, California. Named after “Sacramento Bee” newspaper editor and owner Charles Kenny McClatchy, the school was built in 1937 by way of Public Works Administration...
    •  
    • Leed's Storefront

    • 1934
    • This photograph of the storefront of Leed’s women’s shoes at 814 K Street was taken on the business’s opening day, September 15, 1934. Neon signage and large showcases are visible. The location, designed to store up to 12,000 pairs of women’s...
    • 455
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • Februay 26, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Sacramento River Scene, California

    • 1910
    • This circa 1910 color postcard shows the Sacramento Boat Club, floating at the banks of the Sacramento River and the Yolo County hamlet of Broderick. The image was captured from the Southern Pacific Railroad's drawbridge, positioned just to the...
    • BBSAC695

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK