Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: operate
(50 results)



Display: 20

    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • Themis

    • March 21, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • Februay 26, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Sacramento Northern Railway Locomotive Number 654

    • 1930
    • Pictured here, freight engine Number 654 was built by General Electric and issued in 1930 to run in Sacramento, along X Street. November 3, 1940, was the last day that Sacramento Northern carried passengers, as the company migrated exclusively to...
    • 1024
    • Official Gazette

    • April 15, 1918
    • In April 1915, Sacramento’s City Commission, a governing body that had been in place since July 1912, set itself to transparency with the release of its Official Gazette (known also as the Municipal Gazette). Founded through unanimous vote from the...
    •  
    • Walnut Café and other Fifth and K Street Businesses

    • 1960
    • Taken in 1960, this photograph shows several storefronts, all on the north side of K Street. They include: Jewel Craft Loans at 515 K Street, the Walnut Café and Tavern at 517 K Street, the Owl Cigar Store at 519 K Street, the Palace Hotel at...
    • 180
    • The Review, 1935

    • 1935-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Home Designer

    • March 1923
    • Shown above is an issue of The Home Designer. Established by architect Walter W. Dixon (1884-1953) and German-born builder R.C. Hillen (1883-1955) in June 1921, the Oakland-based, monthly publication sought to increase the “interest of the average...
    •  
    • Sacramento Metropolitan KOA Campground

    • 1970
    • Shown in circa 1970 is the Sacramento Metropolitan KOA Campground, located to the south of Interstate 80, near the city of West Sacramento, at 3951 Lake Road. The site was constructed in the 1960s by Southall Dickson, who went to operate the site...
    • BBSAC773
    • Themis

    • March 17, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Themis

    • March 24, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • The Volunteer

    • August 26, 1942
    • Shown is the newsletter of the Sacramento Defense Council. Founded in June 1941 by vote of Sacramento City Council. Led by mayor Tom Monk, the defense readiness group fell under the jurisdiction of both national and state defense councils. The...
    •  
    • Nugget, 1939

    • 1939-01-01
    • C.K. McClatchy Senior High School is located at 3066 Freeport Boulevard in Sacramento, California. Named after “Sacramento Bee” newspaper editor and owner Charles Kenny McClatchy, the school was built in 1937 by way of Public Works Administration...
    •  
    • The Volunteer

    • Agust 26, 1942
    • Shown is the newsletter of the Sacramento Defense Council. Founded in June 1941 by vote of Sacramento City Council. Led by mayor Tom Monk, the defense readiness group fell under the jurisdiction of both national and state defense councils. The...
    •  

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK