Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: length
(121 results)



Display: 20

    • Folsom Dam Dedication May 5, 1956

    • 1956
    • This May 4, 1956, program accompanied the opening of the Folsom Dam. Prior to the official dedication, attendees were entertained by water skiing, motor boat racing and an air show in the newly forged Folsom Lake.
    • EC-GOV-b07f02i02
    • The Visitor

    • 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • Under Construction

    • 1954
    • This circa 1954 document provides detailed steps on the construction of the Folsom Dam, built by the Army Corps of Engineers. The dam is located 26-miles northeast of Sacramento.
    • EC-GOV-b07f02i08
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • January 29, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Visitor

    • June 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • The Visitor

    • September 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • March 5, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Mercy Hospital

    • 1928
    • This photograph of the façade of the $1,000,000 Mercy Hospital at 4001 J Street. It was taken in 1928 and shows J Street looking north. Opened on February 11, 1925, the new four-story, 155-bed Mercy Hospital was built in the shape of an X to...
    • 568
    • Themis

    • March 3, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • In Time of Emergency

    • 1968
    • This March 1968 government document from the U.S. Department of Defense provides readiness information in the event of nuclear attack or natural disaster. In 1968, the greater Sacramento area had no less than 42 attack sirens. They were tested on...
    • EC-GOV-b07f02i01
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • April 9, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Review, 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Folsom Dam Ground-Breaking Ceremony

    • 1948
    • This October 2, 1948, document accompanied ground breaking ceremonies at the Folsom Dam, built to have a storage capacity of 1,000,000 acre feet. Behind the might of the dam would be Folsom Lake, 13-miles long and three-and-a-half miles wide with...
    • EC-GOV-b07f02i09
    • Forty-niners (49ers) Club

    • 1922
    • March 23rd through 28th of 1922 meant the "Days of '49" celebration, a city-wide homage to Sacramento's Gold Rush past. Pictured are members of the Whiskerino Club, a few of the hundreds of Sacramentans who let their mustaches grow for the...
    • 1003
    • The Review, June 1911

    • 1911-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Elk 1915

    • 1915-01-01
    • Growing children with no available outlet for further education was incentive enough for sixteen elementary school districts to establish California’s first union high school in Elk Grove. The initial building was housed in what is now Old Town...
    •  
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • "Steamers Towing Barges on Sacramento River," Sacramento, Cal.

    •  
    • This postcard shows riverboats pulling barges down the Sacramento River. At the beginning of the twentieth-century, the standard barge - and particularly those operated by the Sacramento Transportation Company - measured 232 feet in length and...
    • BBSAC689

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK