Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: its’
(576 results)



Display: 20

    • The Review, June 1914

    • 1914-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Dredging the Sacramento River, California

    • 1910
    • This divided-back card made in America by the Mitchell Company of San Francisco was postmarked September20, 1910 and sent from the Jameson Ranch in Marysville to East Oakland via boat. River-dredging for gold was conducted with permit by licensed...
    • BBSAC700
    • Restaurant at 1513 Eleventh Street

    • 1931
    • Pictured on October 1, 1931, at 1513 Eleventh Street, is a new restaurant building with a unique look. Although the home to different eateries throughout the years, the spot is best known for its association with Posey’s Cottage, founded in...
    • 160
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • February 12, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Del Pasado, 1934

    • 1934-01-01
    • The first local high school built north of the American River was a first in many ways, the result of a need for a school district to educate the far-flung school-age children in the area combined with the practical need for a civic center to bring...
    •  
    • Walerga Wasp - May 13, 1942

    • May 13, 1942
    • The Sacramento Room holds all ten issues of the mimeographed “Walerga Wasp,” the community newspaper for the Sacramento Assembly Center, located 14-miles northeast of Sacramento. Also referred to as Camp Walerga, the center was built in March/April...
    •  
    • Close-up of O’Neil Brothers Service Station

    • 1933
    • This closer view of gas pumps and service garages at the O’Neil Brothers Service Station at Thirteenth and L Streets was captured on May 12, 1933. In spite of its founders, Joseph and John O’Neil, dying during the 1940s, the company surged to five...
    • 145
    • Breuner's Furniture Company

    • 1945
    • The venerable Breuner's furniture store rests at its 604 K Street location in 1945. John Breuner - after sailing around Cape Horn in the early 1850s - started his business in 1856 and it stayed in operation for over 120 years. Bruener's was...
    • 37
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • January 29, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • Sacramento, Cal. Sacramento River Scene

    •  
    • This placid scene of the Sacramento River and its namesake city’s waterfront business buildings during the first decade of the 20th Century belie the level of intense activity and traffic that made it the hub of the greatest inland waterway in the...
    • BBSAC692
    • Leed’s Shoes Sign

    • 1936
    • Pictured on March 20, 1936, are the bustling locations of Leed’s Shoes and Lewis’s Women’s Apparel at 814 and 812 K Street, respectively. Leed’s had been at the pictured location since the fall of 1934, helping up to 100 of Sacramento’s...
    • 456
    • Karl's Shoes

    • 1962
    • Pictured in circa 1962 is Karl’s Shoes at 620 K Street. Part of a nationwide chain of nearly 400 stores when this image was taken, Karl’s opened its first Sacramento store at 721 K Street in 1929. To the right of the photograph is a portion of...
    • 91
    • Greetings from Sacramento - Black and White

    • 1910
    • This circa 1910 postcard provides a charming welcome to Sacramento, providing a window into the city's finest sights including its buildings and citizens. The entry reads as follows: "Dear Flora, I haven't heard from you in a long while, hope you...
    • BBSAC738
    • Hog Raising in the Sacramento Valley

    • 1920
    • This circa 1920 document promotes the Sacramento Valley's hog raising industry. California's hog industry reached its peak in 1920 with a total of 909,000 head. Yet, by 1926, the number had ebbed to nearly half that at 468,000 head.
    • EC-BUS-b05f04i05
    • Sutterville Aerodrome

    • 1932
    • Pictured in 1932 is the main office building and hangar - also known as Hangar Number Three - for the Sutterville Aerodrome, located on Freeport Boulevard. Opened in 1930, the field replaced a previous venture at Del Paso Park which was scuttled...
    • 84
    • Entrance to Arcade Library

    • 1976
    • This 1976 photograph provides a view of the entrance to the Sacramento County Library’s Arcade branch, located at 2443 Marconi Avenue. The structure – one of the first earth-berm commercial structures in Northern California – was designed by long...
    • PH-SPL-ARC-2-30

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK