Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: immigrants
(20 results)



Display: 20

    • Themis

    • February 24, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Aerial View of Old Sacramento, Sacramento, CA

    • 1996
    • The Old Sacramento District is a national historic landmark due to its rich place in California history. A quarter of a million immigrants came to the Sacramento area, withstanding the ravages of fire, flood and disease to build their lives. ...
    • BBSAC046
    • First Baptist Church, Chinese Mission, Sunday School Class

    • 1922
    • As early as the mid-nineteenth century, American churches conducted evening language classes in order to assist Chinese immigrants in the reading of scripture. In Sacramento, it was Eliza Willsie and Mary Allen’s Baptist Mission on 907 Fifth...
    • 1965
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • St. John's Lutheran Church

    • 1925
    • The Saint John's Lutheran Church, located at 1701 L Street, is captured in this 1925 photograph. Founded on December 1, 1867, by Reverend Matthias Goethe, along with many of Sacramento's German immigrants, the church was first called the German...
    • 514
    • Sacramento Bank Depositor

    • December 1913
    • Sub-titled “A Home Paper for Home People,” The Sacramento Bank Depositor was the house organ of the Sacramento Bank and featured fiction, poetry, platitudes and homilies as well as bank news and facts from across the country. Issues featured...
    •  
    • Land Park Pony Ride

    • 1980
    • This 1980 photograph shows William Land Park’s pony course, consisting of 150 yards of trails. The attraction was started up in 1926 by Martin Bryant and operated through Second World War, a time when gas rationing did nothing to hinder parents...
    • 1957b
    • Pedroni’s Pharmacy at Twenty-Seventh and Sacramento Boulevard

    • 1941
    • The 2730 Sacramento Boulevard location of Pedroni’s Pharmacy is pictured in this January 29, 1941, photograph. The sons of Swiss-Italian immigrants, Joseph and Richard Pedroni left their native Napa County for Sacramento in 1920, opening their...
    • 202
    • Themis

    • March 10, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Ruth Slenczyska

    • 1935
    • Ruth Julia Slenczynska was born to Polish immigrants in Sacramento on January 15, 1925. Her father started giving her instruction in musical theory when she was three, and started her on piano when she was three-and-a-half. A year later, she was...
    • 1031
    • Interior of Panama Pottery

    • 1944
    • Workers at the Panama Pottery factory at 4421 Twenty-Fourth Street are hard at work in this January 2, 1944, photograph. Founded in 1909 by Swedish immigrants Anders Anderson, Victor Axelson and Jacob Johnson, Panama’s production scope was wide,...
    • 163
    • Arata Brothers Supermarket

    • 1960
    • Taken in 1960, this photograph reveals the elaborate storefront of the Arata Brothers' Supermarket, located at 2732 Thirty-fourth Street in Oak Park. Pyramid-stacked cans of summer hot house rhubarb flank the store's entrance. The sons of Italian...
    • 753
    • Albert Elkus Menswear

    • 1930
    • The facade of Albert Elkus Menswear at 830 K Street displays the latest styles and fashions for the well-dressed gentleman in 1930. Elkus had a second location, at 904 J Street, in the 1940s. Descended from German immigrants, Elkus was mayor of...
    • 93
    • Soccer Game at Western Pacific Field

    • 1926
    • This 1926 photograph reveals a throng of spectators at a Sacramento Municipal Soccer League game at Western Pacific Field near Sutterville Road, previously known as Whiskey Hill Road. Of the ten teams that participated in the league, all possessed...
    • 1598
    • Freeport Bridge

    • 1950
    • This 1950 photograph shows the Freeport Bridge spanning the Sacramento River. Constructed in 1929, the double leaf Bascule moveable bridge is 656 feet long. Its first tender was Henry Costa, the son of Portuguese immigrants. He retired from bridge...
    • 195
    • The Review, February 1920

    • 1920-02-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Sacrafornian, 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • Founded in 1876 by the Brothers of the Christian Schools at the southwest corner of Twelfth and K Streets, Christian Brothers School has held subsequent locations at Twenty-First and Broadway, and 4315 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard. After a...
    •  

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK