Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: facility
(90 results)



Display: 20

    • U.S. Army Corps of Engineers' "Rio Vista"

    • 1930
    • Photographed in 1930, this U.S. Army Corps of Engineers snag boat is from the Rio Vista Marine facility. The Facility was established circa 1923 and was used by Army Corps of Engineers until 1952, at which time it became a boat storage facility...
    • 1146
    • Mercy Hospital as Viewed from the Southeast

    • 1928
    • This circa 1928 photograph reveals Mercy Hospital at 4001 J Street, as viewed from the southeast. Yet another monumental design by Sacramento architect Rudolph Herold, Mercy was considered a model of modernity. X-ray facilities, sound absorbing...
    • 564
    • Water Pumping Station

    • 1950
    • This March 13, 1950, photograph shows the water pumping station for Sacramento’s water filtration plant. Located just north of the city, and constructed in 1924, the pump was designed to slowly take water in by gravity, transferring it then to the...
    • 973
    • Riverside Swimming Pool

    • 1947
    • Taken on May 3, 1947 these pictures are of a crowded Riverside Pool, located on 3640 Riverside Boulevard. Swimmers and sunbathers lounge and circulate in the area in front of the refreshment center while others take advantage of the picnic tables...
    • 1940b
    • The Review, June 1911

    • 1911-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • State Printing Plant

    • 1920
    • Pictured in circa 1920 is the State Printing Plant on Fifteenth and L Streets. It was constructed in the early 1870s on the northeast corner of Capitol Park with the intent to make it the Governor's Mansion. It was converted in the mid-1870s to...
    • 1042
    • Del Pasado, 1934

    • 1934-01-01
    • The first local high school built north of the American River was a first in many ways, the result of a need for a school district to educate the far-flung school-age children in the area combined with the practical need for a civic center to bring...
    •  
    • Yolo County Grain Elevators

    • 1945
    • This 1945 photograph shows a Yolo County grain storage facility. The Sacramento River runs just behind the structure.
    • 1817
    • Panama Pottery

    • 1940
    • Taken circa 1940, this photograph of the Panama Pottery facilities, located on 4421 Twenty-Fourth Street, capture most of the facility set back from an empty field. The business was rebuilt after a March 1937 fire. Previous Panama fires – and...
    • 1892b
    • County Hospital, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1960
    • This circa 1960 photochrome postcard shows the Main Building of the Sacramento County Hospital on Stockton Boulevard. The 878 bed facility was state-of-the-art when it was constructed in 1950/51. The description on the back of the card reads...
    • BBSAC425
    • Rail Road Hospital, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1900
    • This circa 1900 postcard shows the Southern Pacific Railroad Hospital, with children sitting at the southeast corner of Seventh and F streets. The would be hospital was built in 1870, very likely by San Francisco-based architect Seth Babson whose...
    • BBSAC430
    • Howard Van Lines

    • 1962
    • Photograph taken in 1962 of Howard Van Lines and Dean Van Lines at 921 Front Street. By 1970 neither business was listed in the City Directory, the only establishment still in place was the Southern Pacific transfer facility at Front and J Streets.
    • 89
    • Saint Patrick’s Home for Children

    • 1932
    • This November 3, 1932, photograph shows the Saint Patrick’s Home for Children at 5945 Franklin Boulevard. The 250,000 dollar structure was dedicated on August 1, 1932, and received its first tenants three weeks later. It replaced a similar...
    • 1394
    • The Sacramento Room

    • 1996
    • Shown in 1996 is the Central Library's archives and research room, the Sacramento Room. Opened in 1995, the facility was set in the original reference room of the 1917 Andrew Carnergie-funded library. To the far right of the photograph is the...
    • 1618a
    • City Cemetery Landmark Sign

    • 1955
    • Pictured on June 18, 1955, is the landmark sign at the Sacramento’s City Cemetery at 1000 Broadway. Attached to the facility’s main office, it states as follows: “City Cemetery; Capt. John A. Sutter donated the original ten acres to the City of...
    • 521
    • The Visitor

    • September 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • McClellan Field, Sacramento, California

    • 1948
    • This circa 1948 postcard shows Gate One at McClellan Field. Just 12 years earlier, on May 7, 1936 - and after a visit from General H. "Hap" Arnold - it was decided that a 7 million dollar repair and supply depot would be established. When it was...
    • BBSAC750

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK