Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: destroyed
(56 results)



Display: 20

    • Anybody's Magazine Vol.1 No.2

    • June 1906
    • Anybody’s Magazine (also referenced in the publication is Sacramento Home Monthly) was a short lived monthly publication, created in Sacramento, California. It charged readers $1.00 a year for a subscription, with single copies running for 10...
    •  
    • Anybody's Magazine Vol.1 No.1

    • May 1906
    • Anybody’s Magazine (also referenced in the publication is Sacramento Home Monthly) was a short lived monthly publication, created in Sacramento, California. It charged readers $1.00 a year for a subscription, with single copies running for 10...
    •  
    • The Review, November 1906

    • 1906-11-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Visitor

    • 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • The Visitor

    • November 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • Edmonds Field After 1948 Fire

    • 1948
    • This photograph captures Edmonds Field, at the intersection of Riverside Boulevard and Broadway, as it appeared on July 24, 1948, after fire - likely started by a carelessly tossed cigarette - destroyed the park on July 11. Immediately afterward,...
    • 1100
    • Lounging Room, Elks Club, Sacramento, CA

    • 1930
    • Prior to the opening of the old Elks Lodge at 824 J Street some of the intended furnishings including expensive billiard tables were destroyed in the April 1906 San Francisco earthquake. The building was still able to open as scheduled with...
    • BBSAC132
    • The Visitor

    • December 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • Alkali Flat House:  511 Eighth Street

    • 2002
    • This 2002 photograph shows a home at 511 Eighth Street, in the Alkali Flat neighborhood of Sacramento. Emerging after a November 1852 fire that destroyed 70 percent of the city, Alkali Flat stands as Sacramento's oldest residential neighborhood,...
    • 2269b
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • December 11, 1909
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Iceland Skating Rink

    • 1940
    • This October 30, 1940, photograph shows a newly-opened Iceland Skating Rink, located at 1430 Del Paso Boulevard. The icebox-making American Ice Company, owned and operated by William Kerth, opened in 1923. When electric home refrigerators began...
    • 444
    • The Visitor

    • June 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • The Wasp

    • July 23, 1898
    • The San Francisco Wasp – based at 514 Market Street – operated as a colorful publication “of illustration and comment,” running from 1876 to 1941. The digitized pages are from July 23, 1898 and February 20, 1904 issues. Founded by the Bohemian...
    •  
    • Young America Engine Company Number Six Anniversary

    • 1933
    • This January 1, 1933, photograph captures a firefighting reenactment, held to celebrate the Seventy-Fifth anniversary of the Young American Engine Company Number Six. In the wake of a November 1852 fire that destroyed 70 percent of the central...
    • 615
    • The Hub Hotel and Tavern

    • 1957
    • Taken in 1957, this photograph shows the weathered facades of the Hub Hotel and Tavern at 224 J Street and the Lincoln Room at 226 J Street. The building housing the Hub was erected by wholesale merchant and Kentuckian Edward P. Figg after the...
    • 19
    • The Review, 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Sacrafornian, 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • Founded in 1876 by the Brothers of the Christian Schools at the southwest corner of Twelfth and K Streets, Christian Brothers School has held subsequent locations at Twenty-First and Broadway, and 4315 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard. After a...
    •  
    • The Visitor

    • July 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK