Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: depicted
(24 results)



Display: 20

    • Nugget, 1948

    • 1948-01-01
    • C.K. McClatchy Senior High School is located at 3066 Freeport Boulevard in Sacramento, California. Named after “Sacramento Bee” newspaper editor and owner Charles Kenny McClatchy, the school was built in 1937 by way of Public Works Administration...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • February 05, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Sacrafornian, 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • Founded in 1876 by the Brothers of the Christian Schools at the southwest corner of Twelfth and K Streets, Christian Brothers School has held subsequent locations at Twenty-First and Broadway, and 4315 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard. After a...
    •  
    • The Review, November 1911

    • 1911-11-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The River Lines

    •  
    • Depicted on this postcard is a riverboat of River Lines, Incorporated, a company that provided passenger transportation and dredging services. The company was formed out of a merger of Citizen's Navigation, Merchant's Transportation and Sacramento...
    • BBSAC723
    • The Review, November 1908

    • 1908-11-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Hotel Sequoia - 911 K Street, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1913
    • The Hotel Sequoia (as the Sequoia Hotel) first appeared in the 1911 Sacramento City Directory at 911 K Street, right next door to the Sequoia Theater, one of almost a dozen venues on K Street offering motion pictures at that time. Owned by the...
    • BBSAC498
    • Themis

    • April 14, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Tower Bridge, Sacramento, California - 7AH-1203

    • 1940
    • Depicted in circa 1940 is Sacramento's Tower Bridge, as seen from the West Sacramento, California. Built in 1935, the bridge's name was taken from a naming contest. Although Tower was chosen in respect to the structure's lift towers, other...
    • BBSAC074
    • High Lights, 1931

    • 1931-01-01
    • A canny businessman and idealistic philanthropist, David Lubin and his brother-in-law Harris Weinstock made Weinstock-Lubin the Sacramento area’s best-known and most popular mercantile establishment for over a century. By the time of his death in...
    •  
    • The Wasp

    • July 23, 1898
    • The San Francisco Wasp – based at 514 Market Street – operated as a colorful publication “of illustration and comment,” running from 1876 to 1941. The digitized pages are from July 23, 1898 and February 20, 1904 issues. Founded by the Bohemian...
    •  
    • The Review, April 1910

    • 1910-04-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Mural Dedication in Rubble

    • 2003
    • Taken on December 30, 2003, this photograph shows a dedication board for a mural that covered what had been Leroy’s Jewelers at the southeast corner of Eighth and K Streets. A victim of fire three years earlier, the building was razed the same day...
    • 2294c
    • Greetings from Fair Oaks, California

    • 1947
    • Though greetings from Fair Oaks, California are offered on the front of this linen-backed card, the scene depicted is generic and not based on any actual location in scenic Fair Oaks. “NYCE” Quality Colored Landscape Locals of Pennsylvania printed...
    • BBSAC958
    • 114-124 J Street

    • 1960
    • Numerous pedestrians walk and stand on the sidewalk in this photograph. Depicted are second story rooms for rent over ground level businesses including a liquor store, and some vacant stores. Adjacent to these stores is the St. Elmo Hotel (118 J...
    • 968
    • L Street

    • 1865
    • L Street circa 1865 is depicted with unpaved streets and wooden sidewalks. The shops are not easily identified although the words "Drugs," "Oils," "Paints," and, faintly, "Merchants Hotel" can be seen on a building on the right. To the left, a...
    • 1172
    • Palace of Fine Arts and the Lagoon, ca. 1915

    • 1915
    • This artistic rendering of the Palace of Fine Arts' rotunda and colonnade was done in circa 1915. Built under the guidance of architect Bernard Maybeck between 1913 and 1915 for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition of 1915, the depicted...
    • BBSAC114

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK