Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: department’s
(259 results)



Display: 20

    • Grayson's department store

    • 1950
    • This 1950 view of the south side of K Street reveals Grayson's Department Store, located at 716 K Street, and Payless Drugstore, located at 716 K Street. Established in the summer of 1940, Grayson's was a California chain, specializing in women's...
    • 427
    • Sacrafornian, 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • Founded in 1876 by the Brothers of the Christian Schools at the southwest corner of Twelfth and K Streets, Christian Brothers School has held subsequent locations at Twenty-First and Broadway, and 4315 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard. After a...
    •  
    • RT Metro Light Rail, Sacramento, California - Tom Myers

    • 1988
    • This circa 1988 postcard shows a relatively new lightrail operating along K Street, near Eleventh Street. Lightrail began operation in 1987, and extended itself as far east as Mather Field in 1998. Notable structures are, in the middle of the...
    • BBSAC407
    • Greenback Notes, 1925

    • 1925-01-01
    • San Juan Union High School is located at 7551 Greenback Lane in Citrus Heights, California. Founded in 1913, it stands as Sacramento County’s second oldest high school behind that of Sacramento High School, established in 1856. The school’s...
    •  
    • Indo Arch Installation

    • 1980
    • This April 1980 photograph shows the installation of the Indo Arch, a public art piece design by Sacramento State University Art Professor Gerald Walburg. The sculpture's appearance came with criticism. It was felt, particularly by historian and...
    • 1946a
    • Sacramento Fire Department, Engine Company No. 8

    • 1932
    • This December 1932 photograph shows the recently-built fire house of the Sacramento Fire Department's Engine Company Number 8. Upon completion, The Spanish-style house won several awards for its structural and landscape architecture. The station,...
    • 614
    • Chief Engineer, City Fire Dep., Sacramento, CA

    • 1910
    • This circa 1910 postcard shows the Eureka Engine Company Number Four Fire House and the office of the Fire Department's Chief Engineer, located at 1017 Fifth Street. The building was constructed in 1855 and survived until redevelopment in the...
    • BBSAC136
    • Fritz Kaminsky

    • 1952
    • Fritz Kaminsky, Sacramento City Police Chief, is pictured in this 1952 portrait. A native of Sacramento, Kaminsky was first employed as a secretary to the chief of police on November 18, 1923. Through the years, however, he rose through the ranks...
    • 1132
    • Archery at William Land Park

    • 1930
    • An army of archers take aim in this 1930 photograph, shot at William Land Park. By the mid-1920s, Sacramento’s archery community had formed a club, consisting of over 50 members, and found venues for sport at Land, Curtis and McKinley parks. The...
    • 1343
    • The Review, 1934

    • 1934-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • K Street, 825-930

    • 1975
    • This photograph was taken from the east side of the intersection of Tenth and K Streets, looking west, in circa 1975. In the left foreground at 930 K Street is the United California Bank. The structure was built in 1962 by the Contracting...
    • 1835
    • K Street, 825

    • 1975
    • Taken circa 1975, this photo of the K Street Mall shows pedestrians passing in front of Weinstock's Department Store (825 K Street). The Clunie Hotel is at the left.
    • 1840
    • Fire on the Sacramento River between I and M Street Bridges

    • 1932
    • Shown on August 28, 1932, is a fire that claimed River Lines company’s freighters Sacramento, Valetta, San Joaquin No. 2, San Joaquin No. 4, San Jose, Flora, Jacinto and Colusa, and barges Maryland and Alabama. An additional victim in the fire was...
    • 903c
    • Department of Motor Vehicles, Sacramento, Cal. - Blank Back

    • 1953
    • Shown in 1953 is the State of California's Department of Motor Vehicles Sacramento Headquarters Building, at 2540 Twenty-Fourth Street. The structure was renamed "Building - West" in September 1963, after the arrival of the new, 12 million dollar,...
    • BBSAC351
    • Sacramento Solons Team Portrait:  1949

    • 1949
    • This 1949 photograph shows the Sacramento Solons baseball team at Edmonds Field, at Riverside Boulevard and Broadway. The season was highlighted by a third place finish in the Pacific Coast League (after finishing in last place the year before)...
    • 1705
    • The Review, June 1909

    • 1909-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK