Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: demolition
(12 results)



Display: 20

    • Store News Weinstock-Lubin & Co.

    • July 23, 1923
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock combined efforts in 1875 and opened The Mechanics Store and within a few years their outstanding stock, fixed prices and fair dealing placed them among the top merchants in Sacramento. In 1888 the...
    •  
    • K Streets: 508 through 620

    • 1960
    • Pictured in circa 1960 are the Karl’s Shoes are 620 K Street and Breuner’s Furniture at 600 through 618 K Street. Karl’s – a chain store – had been a K Street fixture since the late-1920s while Bruener’s had been a Sacramento institution since its...
    • 42
    • The Walnut Room

    • 1940
    • Shown is a circa 1940 menu for the Walnut Room lounge of the Hotel Sacramento, located at Tenth and K streets. Buffet dinners, private parties and election returns were a few of the spot's uses until the hotel's demolition in July 1956.
    •  
    • Hippodrome Theater Interior

    • 1942
    • This circa 1942 photograph reveals a glowing interior of the Hippodrome Theater at 1013 K Street. Just four years later, on September 14, 1946, the marquee of the Hippodrome collapsed onto K Street, killing one person and injuring three. A...
    • 534
    • The Volunteer

    • August 26, 1942
    • Shown is the newsletter of the Sacramento Defense Council. Founded in June 1941 by vote of Sacramento City Council. Led by mayor Tom Monk, the defense readiness group fell under the jurisdiction of both national and state defense councils. The...
    •  
    • The Volunteer

    • Agust 26, 1942
    • Shown is the newsletter of the Sacramento Defense Council. Founded in June 1941 by vote of Sacramento City Council. Led by mayor Tom Monk, the defense readiness group fell under the jurisdiction of both national and state defense councils. The...
    •  
    • Demolition of Leroy's

    • 2003
    • Taken on December 30, 2003, this photograph depicts the demolished Leroy's Jewelers building, located next to the JNJ Gold building.
    • 2294b
    • Sutter Junior High School

    • 1945
    • This 1945 photograph shows the entrance to Sutter Junior High School, located at 1816 K Street. The building was constructed for 222,283 dollars in 1908 as Sacramento Senior High School, operating in that capacity until 1924. The school's...
    • 823
    • California Exposition, Sacramento, Cal. - Mike Roberts Studio

    • 1965
    • For well over fifty years the California State Fair stood at the intersection of Y Street (later Broadway) and Stockton Boulevard and the grounds ran nearly a mile north and east from there and then up 48th Street and back to Y. Upon entering the...
    • BBSAC341

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK