Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: burgeoning
(15 results)

Display: 20

    • Country Club Centre

    • 1958
    • This 1958 photograph provides a view of Country Club Centre at Watt Avenue and El Camino Boulevard. Opening in August 1952 by way of the theater designs of Joseph Blumenfeld, it soon occurred to him that the northern county's burgeoning population...
    • 1338
    • Wright & Kimbrough Tract 33

    • 1923
    • Shown is a 1923 promotional pamphlet and map of Wright and Kimbrough's Tract 33 in what was a burgeoning East Sacramento. It was roughly bordered by Forty-Fourth Street to the west, F and H streets to the south, Forty-Eighth Street to the north and...
    • EC-BUS-b06f01i05
    • Twelfth and J Streets

    • 1900
    • This view looking down an unpaved J Street depicts the Lutheran German Evangelical Church on the left and the Christian Brothers College to the right. Power poles line both sides of the street and electric lines run above to power a burgeoning...
    • 1410
    • Canadian Fur Company

    • 1961
    • The art deco facade of Canadian Fur Company and Cold Storage at 4121 Franklin Boulevard lights up the night in 1961. The 1949 arrival of the store and factory was big news for the burgeoning area of South Sacramento.
    • 125
    • Exit View, inside the Village Theater

    • 1959
    • Shown here in circa 1959 is the rear section of the single-screen Village Theater at 2925 Fulton Avenue. California architect Gastono “Gale” Santocono designed the Village, one of fifteen movie theaters that he worked on in California, Colorado...
    • 804b
    • Upper J Street

    • 1925
    • This 1925 promotional pamphlet, created by local realty firm Wright and Kimbrough, highlights the burgeoning Upper J Street district of Sacramento, covering Eleventh Tenth through Fourteenth streets.
    • EC-BUS-b05f04i01
    • Hippodrome Theater

    • 1942
    • This screenward shot of the Hippodrome Theater's interior was taken in circa 1942. The 1013 K Street venue had changed much since its opening in 1913, when it was known as the Empress. At that time, it provided vaudeville-style entertainment and a...
    • 535
    • Pacific Metal Awning Co.

    • 1960
    • This circa 1960 postcard promotes Pacifc Metal Awning Company, located at 5050 Perry Avenue. Offering flexalum aluminum "for the world's finest awning," it was one no less than 50 awning contractors in the Sacramento area, accommodating a...
    • BBSAC781
    • Aerial View of William Land Park

    • 1925
    • This rare aerial view of William Land Park was taken in circa 1925. Freeport Boulevard runs diagonally, north-south, on the left side of the photograph. To the left of that are administrative and academic buildings of the newly-founded Sacramento...
    • 2256
    • Turnverein Building

    • 1925
    • The Turnverein Building on 3349 J Street is the subject of this photograph, taken in 1925, the same year that the structure was built. The cornerstone for the 100,000 dollar building was laid on October 25, 1925, enabling the organization to move...
    • 970
    • Tenth Street at N Looking North

    • 1947
    • This northerly look up Tenth Street from N Street was taken in April 20, 1947. Visible in the foreground is the State Library and Courts Building while, in the distance, and screened by palm trees, is the pediment of State Office Building Number...
    • 988
    • Nimbus Dam

    • 1955
    • In June 1955, seven F86D interceptors from Travis Air Force Base flew over Lake Natoma to salute the opening of Nimbus Dam. The goal of the Bureau of Reclamation, in constructing the dam, was twofold: bring hydroelectric power to a burgeoning...
    • BBSAC059
    • Anglo California National Bank

    • 1950
    • Resting at 2863 Thirty-Fifth Street in 1950 is the Anglo California Bank. The brick structure was built in 1918 for 10,000 dollars, replacing the bank’s previous wood frame building. Its new sign would read Citizens' Bank of Sacramento,...
    • 1880
    • Comstock Building Burns

    • 2003
    • Breathing its last breath on July 3, 2003, is the Comstock Building at Eighth and J Streets. The three-story building was constructed in 1861 by Leland Stanford and sold to burgeoning Sacramento businessman and native-Austrian Anthony Coolot. He...
    • 2264f
    • Auto Map of Sacramento

    • 1923
    • This 1923 promotional item provides a map and series of driving suggestions for automobile touring throughout Sacramento region. The burgeoning concept of auto travel had caught on in Sacramento by the end of the Great War with near 47,000...
    • EC-VIS-b01f01i01


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search