Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Walnut
(39 results)



Display: 20

    • River Auto Stages

    • 1930
    • Shown is a 1930 brochure for River Auto Stages and California-Nevada Stages. The business was started in 1915 by Beverly Gibson, namesake of the future Gibson Bus Lines.
    • EC-BUS-b10f04i03
    • Walnut Café and other Fifth and K Street Businesses

    • 1960
    • Taken in 1960, this photograph shows several storefronts, all on the north side of K Street. They include: Jewel Craft Loans at 515 K Street, the Walnut Café and Tavern at 517 K Street, the Owl Cigar Store at 519 K Street, the Palace Hotel at...
    • 180
    • Sacramento River and the Delta

    • 1995
    • This circa 1995 aerial photograph provides an ideal view of the city of Walnut Grove, along the Sacramento River. Prominent sights are the Walnut Grove Bridge; to the lower, left-hand corner, Delta Cross Channel; and, to the upper, left-hand...
    • BBSAC725
    • Crocker Art Museum

    • 1910
    • Shown in circa 1910 is the first floor lobby of the Crocker Art Museum at 216 O Street. The doorways and stairways are made of walnut while the paneling is made of California laurel. Through the door to the right of the photograph is the museum’s...
    • 1036
    • The Visitor

    • June 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • A Sacramento Saga

    • 1946
    • This 1946 brochure is one of 3,000 printed to promote the Sacramento Chamber of Commerce's history "A Sacramento Saga," written by Sacramento Union news writer Myrtle Shaw Lord. Covering the chamber's first 50 years, the book sold for three dollars...
    • EC-CHA-b01f02i01
    • The Review, June 1918

    • 1918-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • February 19, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Walnut Room

    • 1940
    • Shown is a circa 1940 menu for the Walnut Room lounge of the Hotel Sacramento, located at Tenth and K streets. Buffet dinners, private parties and election returns were a few of the spot's uses until the hotel's demolition in July 1956.
    •  
    • The Home Designer

    • March 1923
    • Shown above is an issue of The Home Designer. Established by architect Walter W. Dixon (1884-1953) and German-born builder R.C. Hillen (1883-1955) in June 1921, the Oakland-based, monthly publication sought to increase the “interest of the average...
    •  
    • California State Capitol - Jeff Webster

    • 2008
    • This 2008 postcard shows a portion of the stairs scaling one end of the California State Capitol building. The pictured flight -- built of Honduran mahogany -- is a replica of the original set, first built in 1871 by Philetus Burnett out of...
    • BBSAC320
    • Themis

    • April 28, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Rose Leaves, 1923

    • 1923-01-01
    • Centered at the junction of the California Central rails and the Central Pacific Railway and named for the abundant wildflowers in the area, the town of Roseville formed a school district in 1869 but had no schoolhouse of its own until 1872. A...
    •  
    • The Visitor

    • October 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • The Visitor

    • December 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK