Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Swiss
(28 results)



Display: 20

    • The Elk 1915

    • 1915-01-01
    • Growing children with no available outlet for further education was incentive enough for sixteen elementary school districts to establish California’s first union high school in Elk Grove. The initial building was housed in what is now Old Town...
    •  
    • Anybody's Magazine Vol.1 No.4

    • August 1906
    • Anybody’s Magazine (also referenced in the publication is Sacramento Home Monthly) was a short lived monthly publication, created in Sacramento, California. It charged readers $1.00 a year for a subscription, with single copies running for 10...
    •  
    • Store News Weinstock-Lubin & Co.

    • July 30, 1923
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock combined efforts in 1875 and opened The Mechanics Store and within a few years their outstanding stock, fixed prices and fair dealing placed them among the top merchants in Sacramento. In 1888 the...
    •  
    • Sacrafornian, 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • Founded in 1876 by the Brothers of the Christian Schools at the southwest corner of Twelfth and K Streets, Christian Brothers School has held subsequent locations at Twenty-First and Broadway, and 4315 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard. After a...
    •  
    • A Sacramento Saga

    • 1946
    • This 1946 brochure is one of 3,000 printed to promote the Sacramento Chamber of Commerce's history "A Sacramento Saga," written by Sacramento Union news writer Myrtle Shaw Lord. Covering the chamber's first 50 years, the book sold for three dollars...
    • EC-CHA-b01f02i01
    • The Review, 1923

    • 1923-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • J Street, 814-904; 1011 Ninth Street

    • 1977
    • Looking south from Plaza Park, this circa 1977 street scene of the corner of Ninth and J Streets features pedestrians and window-shoppers. A myriad of extended signs promoting a wide variety of businesses line the block above head level with the...
    • 1532b
    • First Evangelical Church

    • 1929
    • This March 6, 1929, photograph shows the newly-completed First Evangelical Church, located at 1506 Tenth Street. Built in less than six months, the brick church cost its congregation 25,000 dollars. The First Evangelical Church – comprised mostly...
    • 517
    • The Visitor

    • September 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • The Review, 1925

    • 1925-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Review, June 1917

    • 1917-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1928

    • 1928-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • Walerga Wasp - June 10, 1942

    • June 10, 1942
    • The Sacramento Room holds all ten issues of the mimeographed “Walerga Wasp,” the community newspaper for the Sacramento Assembly Center, located 14-miles northeast of Sacramento. Also referred to as Camp Walerga, the center was built in March/April...
    •  
    • City Brewery

    • 1900
    • Pictured in circa 1900, at the northeast corner of Twelfth and ""H"" Streets, is the City Brewery. It was established in 1856 by German expatriates Wilhelm Borchers and Benedict Hilbert. The two-story structure was made of brick, rested on a lot...
    • 131

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK