Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: September
(210 results)



Display: 20

    • Themis

    • March 3, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1928

    • 1928-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • Del Pasado, 1934

    • 1934-01-01
    • The first local high school built north of the American River was a first in many ways, the result of a need for a school district to educate the far-flung school-age children in the area combined with the practical need for a civic center to bring...
    •  
    • The Wasp

    • July 23, 1898
    • The San Francisco Wasp – based at 514 Market Street – operated as a colorful publication “of illustration and comment,” running from 1876 to 1941. The digitized pages are from July 23, 1898 and February 20, 1904 issues. Founded by the Bohemian...
    •  
    • Circus Poster

    • 1869
    • This detailed poster advertises a circus performance by Dan Castello’s Overland Circus and Menagerie, slated to take place at the California State Fair on September 9 and 10, 1869. The circus actually ran for six full days, from September 6 to...
    • 2313
    • The Review, June 1912

    • 1912-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Sacramento City Library Staff

    • 1963
    • This September 1963 photograph shows librarians Rose Guerra (left) and Joanne Scanlon-Rudolf at a wedding shower for the latter. The event was held at the main branch of the Sacramento City Library. Scanlon-Rudolf was married on September 28, 1963.
    • PH-SPL-CEN-3-14
    • Rose Leaves, 1921

    • 1921-01-01
    • Centered at the junction of the California Central rails and the Central Pacific Railway and named for the abundant wildflowers in the area, the town of Roseville formed a school district in 1869 but had no schoolhouse of its own until 1872. A...
    •  
    • Air Currents

    • September 1, 1918
    • Air Currents was a monthly publication of Mather Field, a flight training base for the newly-formed United States Army Air Service. Located 12- miles east of Sacramento, California, Mather’s first phase of military operation stretched from June...
    •  
    • Anybody's Magazine Vol.1 No.4

    • August 1906
    • Anybody’s Magazine (also referenced in the publication is Sacramento Home Monthly) was a short lived monthly publication, created in Sacramento, California. It charged readers $1.00 a year for a subscription, with single copies running for 10...
    •  
    • The Review, December 1910

    • 1910-12-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Bridge Across American River at Fair Oaks, Sacramento Cal.

    • September 26, 1907
    • This postcard - dated September 26, 1907 - shows the American River, the southern bank of the American River and the Fair Oaks Bridge. The bridge was built in 1901 to connect Fair Oaks with a railroad spur in Folsom. It replaced in 1907 after...
    • BBSAC078
    • Libby, McNeill and Libby as seen from Stockton Boulevard

    • 1935
    • This 1935 photograph shows an ivy-covered Libby, McNeill and Libby cannery, bordering Stockton Boulevard. On the left side of the photograph is the cannery’s first floor receiving area while just above is the can storage room. In September 1912,...
    • 414
    • The Visitor

    • October 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • Pride of the River Steamboat

    • 1911
    • The "Pride of the River" is shown in action, somewhere near Sacramento on the Sacramento River. This photograph of the riverboat, built in 1878 for the California Transportation Company, was taken in 1911. The ship's maiden voyage was a 20-minute...
    • 1966a

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK