Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Prior
(196 results)



Display: 20

    • Themis

    • March 21, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Helvetia Park

    • 1932
    • Pictured is a July 17, 1932, public gathering at the picnic grounds of East Sacramento's Helvetia Park. Prior to the Park's existence - 1920 to 1953 - it served as the burial ground for Sutter's Fort in the 1840s and 50s. The first person interred...
    • 773
    • Martha Washington Candies

    • 1934
    • Martha Washington Candy Store at 3130 J Street is shown here on May 4, 1934. The photograph was taken on the opening day of the new business which included free ice cream cones for visitors. The design of the store was meant to carry Sacramentans...
    • 417
    • Themis

    • March 3, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • J Street, 606 through 614

    • 1960
    • This 1960 photograph shows several businesses on the south side of J Street, between Sixth and Seventh Streets. They include, right to left, the Ramona Garage at 606 J Street, the abandoned Crystal Palace pottery, the Argentina Tavern at 610 J...
    • 926
    • State of California Highway Patrol Office

    • 1950
    • This circa 1950 photograph shows the parking area of the Sacramento Squad Station for the California Highway Patrol at 2521 Stockton Boulevard. The property abutted the California State Fair Grounds which, prior to the agency's construction of an...
    • 543
    • California State Capitol from the East

    • 1929
    • This photograph of the California State Capitol's east side was taken from Capitol Park on August 24, 1929, just months prior to the commencement of the Great Depression. Note the two boys seated on the right, with one holding an opened brochure...
    • 220
    • East Lawn Mortuary

    • 1928
    • This 1928 photograph shows the mausoleum and administrative buildings of the East Lawn Memorial Park Cemetery at Forty-third Street and Folsom Boulevard. The 250,000 dollar mausoleum, constructed in 1925/26, was built by the Fresno-based Robert...
    • 700
    • Taylor's Restaurant

    • 1942
    • Pictured in April 1942 is Taylor's Drive-In Restaurant, located at 1132 Del Paso Boulevard in the Woodlake area of North Sacramento. The business was opened by Fred A. Taylor a year prior to the taking of this photograph.
    • 22
    • St. Mary's Cemetery

    • 1932
    • Taken on March 28, 1932, this photograph shows the Mausoleum of the St. Mary's Catholic Cemetery at 6700 Twenty-First Avenue. The 80,000 dollar structure was built in 1929/30 in the shape of a cross and represented a culmination of the efforts of...
    • 702
    • K Street Mall Animals

    • 1974
    • A collection of five photos of the K Street Mall animals in the Macy's Plaza taken in May of 1974. The animals were removed prior to Light Rail's installation.
    • 1038b
    • The Review, June 1917

    • 1917-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Revetment Construction along the River

    • 1940
    • A work crew toils away at constructing a portion of the revetment along the Sacramento River in this July 1940 photograph. Just days prior to this, Colonel Warren T. Hannum of the Army Corps of Engineers declared that the Sacramento Valley's levee...
    • 284
    • Town and Country Village Shopping Center

    • 1948
    • This November 14, 1948, photograph shows the Town and Country Village, located at the intersection of Fulton and Marconi avenues. A brainchild of contractor, Jere Strizek, the open air shopping center opened in 1946 and, by 1951, was home to 73...
    • 683
    • Second Street:  926 and 930

    • 1950
    • The Roma Hotel, at 930 Second Street, is the focus of this 1950 photograph. Also visible are the Roma Cafe at 930 Second Street and the National Employment Agency at 926 Second Street. The hotel - one of the first in Sacramento to owned by an...
    • 1557
    • KCRA Announcer Steve George

    • 1940
    • Shown in 1940 is the luminous Steve George, a sports casting legend in Sacramento for over 60 years. A native of Butte, Montana, George took a position with the Sacramento Union in the early 1920s. With the advent of the Second World War, he then...
    • 1470
    • The Review, June 1898

    • 1898-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Review, February 1913

    • 1913-02-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Interior of Delta King Ferry

    • 1947
    • Shown is an interior view of the Delta King riverboat, prior to renovation, taken on March 13, 1947. The Delta King arrived in Sacramento on June 2, 1927, having made its maiden voyage on the Sacramento River from San Francisco.
    • 1472

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK