Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Photographers
(39 results)



Display: 20

    • K Street

    • 1915
    • A crowd is seen standing on the sidewalk and seated along the curb in this photo taken circa 1915. The photographers are posed to have their picture taken. The large box cameras are mounted on wood tripods and two of the photographers are perched...
    • 1409
    • Nugget, 1944

    • 1944-01-01
    • C.K. McClatchy Senior High School is located at 3066 Freeport Boulevard in Sacramento, California. Named after “Sacramento Bee” newspaper editor and owner Charles Kenny McClatchy, the school was built in 1937 by way of Public Works Administration...
    •  
    • Sacrafornian, 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • Founded in 1876 by the Brothers of the Christian Schools at the southwest corner of Twelfth and K Streets, Christian Brothers School has held subsequent locations at Twenty-First and Broadway, and 4315 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard. After a...
    •  
    • The Review, 1944

    • 1944-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Order of AHEPA Dance

    •  
    • It's the third annual dance and entertainment for Sacramento Chapter No. 153 of the Order of AHEPA. Elks Hall is filled with the merrymakers who pose for a group picture. Smiles and stoic stares appear on the faces of the many males wearing ties...
    • 2004
    • The Gammagram

    • 1940
    • Shown is the September 1940 issue to the "Gammagram," the official newsletter of the Sierra Camera Club of Sacramento. The group was founded in 1936 by Grant Duggins, John Pardee and Eliot Bowdoin.
    • EC-CLU-b05f06i05
    • Knights of Pythias Marching Band

    • 1935
    • The Knights of Pythias marching band moves itself along an L Street review stand in circa 1935. The band was formed in 1920 and was a frequent traveler to musical events statewide, including spots like Grass Valley, Yreka, and Santa Cruz, plus...
    • 2017
    • Knights of Pythias

    • 1935
    • In this circa 1935 photograph, members of the Knights of Pythias march down L Street in close order. The organization's Sacramento chapter, Lodge 11, celebrated its 71-year anniversary in February 1935. Its castle-style headquarters was located...
    • 2018
    • The Visitor

    • September 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • K Street circa 1910

    • 1910
    • Looking east on K Street about 1910, the transition from horse to gas is very evident. There are many vehicles in this scene; two electric street cars, horse-drawn carriages and wagons, and a number of automobiles. Pedestrians dot the sidewalks...
    • 2145
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • March 12, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Review, 1945

    • 1945-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Themis

    • April 21, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1928

    • 1928-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • The Visitor

    • November 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • The Wasp

    • July 23, 1898
    • The San Francisco Wasp – based at 514 Market Street – operated as a colorful publication “of illustration and comment,” running from 1876 to 1941. The digitized pages are from July 23, 1898 and February 20, 1904 issues. Founded by the Bohemian...
    •  

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK