Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Original
(238 results)



Display: 20

    • Themis

    • April 7, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • Themis

    • March 24, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • December 11, 1909
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Folsom State Prison’s Original Officers and Guards Building

    •  
    • This circa 1900 photograph shows the Folsom State Prison’s original Officers and Guards Building. Tucked into the southeast corner of Folsom, the structure was built in 1895, as indicated by the date stone, which reads “MDCCCXCV.” Two...
    • 2210b
    • The Visitor

    • July 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • Folsom State Prison Old Administrative Building and Cellblock

    • 1900
    • As seen from the northeast in circa 1900 is Gothic-style Folsom State Prison. As early as 1878, it was the State’s intent to make Folsom a branch prison of San Quentin. In accord, it received its first 44 inmates from San Quentin in July 1880. ...
    • 2212b
    • The Visitor

    • 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • Turner Hall Cafe

    • 1920
    • This circa 1920 photograph shows the interior of the Turner Hall Café at 914 K Street. Notables posing are co-owners Louis Graber (standing with elbow on bar) and William Dreher (seated left-of-center facing camera, left hand holding glasses). ...
    • 958
    • Greenback Notes, 1925

    • 1925-01-01
    • San Juan Union High School is located at 7551 Greenback Lane in Citrus Heights, California. Founded in 1913, it stands as Sacramento County’s second oldest high school behind that of Sacramento High School, established in 1856. The school’s...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Room

    • 1996
    • Shown in 1996 is the Central Library's archives and research room, the Sacramento Room. Opened in 1995, the facility was set in the original reference room of the 1917 Andrew Carnergie-funded library. To the far right of the photograph is the...
    • 1618a
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • February 19, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Sutter's Fort

    • 1990
    • Images of Sutter’s Fort in Sacramento spanning over 150 years appear on the top and lower right of this postcard by Tom Myers. The photograph on the lower left captures actors at the fort dressed in period clothing posing for a photographer in...
    • BBSAC828
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • January 1, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Themis

    • March 10, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • Februay 26, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Original Central Pacific Depot

    • 1863
    • As captured in this 1863 photograph, several rail workers stand in front of, and beside, the Central Pacific Railroad’s first depot and ticket office at Front and I Streets. It was designed in 1863 by Collis P. Huntington, and built in one...
    • 853
    • Del Pasado, 1939

    • 1939-01-01
    • The first local high school built north of the American River was a first in many ways, the result of a need for a school district to educate the far-flung school-age children in the area combined with the practical need for a civic center to bring...
    •  
    • California State Capitol - Jeff Webster

    • 2008
    • This 2008 postcard shows a portion of the stairs scaling one end of the California State Capitol building. The pictured flight -- built of Honduran mahogany -- is a replica of the original set, first built in 1871 by Philetus Burnett out of...
    • BBSAC320
    • Folsom State Prison Original Administrative Building

    • 1905
    • Pictured in circa 1905 is the Folsom Prison’s ivy-shrouded administrative building, completed in 1881. Up until 1914, the Warden’s residence was located on the top floor of the building. It was moved to just beyond the East Gate that same...
    • 2211c

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK