Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Michael
(36 results)



Display: 20

    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • February 19, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Mural Dedication in Rubble

    • 2003
    • Taken on December 30, 2003, this photograph shows a dedication board for a mural that covered what had been Leroy’s Jewelers at the southeast corner of Eighth and K Streets. A victim of fire three years earlier, the building was razed the same day...
    • 2294c
    • Building on Eighth and K Streets after Fire

    • 2003
    • This digital image of a burned out Leroy’s Jewelers was taken on the evening of December 29, 2003. The building caught fire in May 2000, exacting over 150,000 dollars in damage and drawing a three alarm response of over 45 firefighters. Up to the...
    • 2294a
    • Nugget, 1945

    • 1945-01-01
    • C.K. McClatchy Senior High School is located at 3066 Freeport Boulevard in Sacramento, California. Named after “Sacramento Bee” newspaper editor and owner Charles Kenny McClatchy, the school was built in 1937 by way of Public Works Administration...
    •  
    • The Review, November 1906

    • 1906-11-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Greenback Notes, 1925

    • 1925-01-01
    • San Juan Union High School is located at 7551 Greenback Lane in Citrus Heights, California. Founded in 1913, it stands as Sacramento County’s second oldest high school behind that of Sacramento High School, established in 1856. The school’s...
    •  
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • February 05, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Wasp

    • July 23, 1898
    • The San Francisco Wasp – based at 514 Market Street – operated as a colorful publication “of illustration and comment,” running from 1876 to 1941. The digitized pages are from July 23, 1898 and February 20, 1904 issues. Founded by the Bohemian...
    •  
    • Demolition of Leroy's

    • 2003
    • Taken on December 30, 2003, this photograph depicts the demolished Leroy's Jewelers building, located next to the JNJ Gold building.
    • 2294b
    • Sacrafornian, 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • Founded in 1876 by the Brothers of the Christian Schools at the southwest corner of Twelfth and K Streets, Christian Brothers School has held subsequent locations at Twenty-First and Broadway, and 4315 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard. After a...
    •  
    • The Visitor

    • July 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • Dreamland Dance Hall

    • 1959
    • Pictured in circa 1959 are the Dreamland Dance Hall at 917 Sixth Street, the Desmond Hotel at 919-and-a-half Sixth Street, and Victory Lunch at 921 Sixth Street. Dreamland was operated by Michael Campanella, an immigrant of Italy who came to...
    • 80
    • The Review, 1942

    • 1942-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • Februay 26, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK