Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Frederick
(155 results)



Display: 20

    • Frederick Foto Service

    • 1924
    • This 1924 photograph shows the Frederick Foto Service resting at 916 Seventh Street. It was founded by Harley W. Frederick shortly after his return from Europe and the First World War. He apprenticed for a career in photography with Sacramento's...
    • 382
    • The Review, June 1917

    • 1917-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • William Land Park Community Clubhouse

    • 1930
    • The William Land Park Community Clubhouse is visible in this circa 1930 photograph. It was built with the remains of ranch buildings, including a hop kiln, on the Swanston-McDevitt tract at the time of the city’s purchase. In addition, an 8,000...
    • 868
    • The Review, June 1911

    • 1911-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Nugget, 1945

    • 1945-01-01
    • C.K. McClatchy Senior High School is located at 3066 Freeport Boulevard in Sacramento, California. Named after “Sacramento Bee” newspaper editor and owner Charles Kenny McClatchy, the school was built in 1937 by way of Public Works...
    •  
    • The Review, February 1914

    • 1914-02-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Lake Scene, McKinley Park, Sacramento, California

    • 1930
    • Shown in circa 1930 is McKinley Park's Kiesel Lake. The body of water was named by Frederick William Kiesel in 1912 to honor his son, Frederick Birdsall Kiesel, who died as an infant. Located on the southwest quadrant of the park, Lake Kiesel is...
    • BBSAC555
    • The Review, June 1914

    • 1914-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • The Review, June 1908

    • 1908-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Forty-niners (49ers) Club

    • 1922
    • March 23rd through 28th of 1922 meant the "Days of '49" celebration, a city-wide homage to Sacramento's Gold Rush past. Pictured are members of the Whiskerino Club, a few of the hundreds of Sacramentans who let their mustaches grow for the...
    • 1003
    • Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • December 18, 1909
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Themis

    • March 21, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Mercy Hospital’s Front Solarium

    • 1928
    • The third floor solarium of Mercy Hospital (4001 J Street) is pictured in this circa 1928 photo. The room was placed just above the building’s main entrance, with its windows looking directly south. Visible in the room is a statuette of Jesus...
    • 565
    • Sacramento Filtration Plant

    • 1927
    • This circa 1927 photograph shows the Sacramento water purification and filtration station's sedimentation basin. By late 1926, the plant was pumping some 823 million gallons of water into the city's mains, accounting for a per capita daily usage...
    • 1554
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • March 5, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Nugget, 1949

    • 1949-01-01
    • C.K. McClatchy Senior High School is located at 3066 Freeport Boulevard in Sacramento, California. Named after “Sacramento Bee” newspaper editor and owner Charles Kenny McClatchy, the school was built in 1937 by way of Public Works...
    •  
    • Mercy Hospital Lobby

    • 1928
    • This interior view of Mercy Hospital at 4001 J Street shows the building’s lobby in circa 1928. All patients and visitors entered the hospital on the second floor via steps. In doing so, they were met with the pictured lobby and admissions...
    • 566
    • Marshall School Fashion Show

    • 1922
    • This June 1922 photograph shows a giddy group of seventh grade girls modelling of their self-made garb at Marshall School at Twenty-Eighth and G Streets. They were directed in preparation by the schools sewing instructor, Ms. Mercedes McGinnis. ...
    • 1067a
    • Mercy Hospital Children’s Solarium

    • 1928
    • The children’s solarium at Mercy Hospital at 4001 J Street is shown in this circa 1928 photograph. The tile work, located just below the room’s windows, was printed to show familiar figures from the Mother Goose rhymes. Located in the...
    • 567
    • Arched Sign at Masonic Lawn Cemetery

    • 1925
    • This circa 1925 photograph shows the north entrance to the Masonic Lawn Cemetery at 2700 Riverside Boulevard. Beyond an arched gateway with the words “Masonic Lawn” and the Masonic “G” symbol written on it, several headstones and tombs can...
    • 703

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK