Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Brothers’
(145 results)



Display: 20

    • Christian Brothers’ School:  Aerial View

    • 1930
    • This unique aerial view of Christian Brothers’ School at Twenty-First and Y Street was taken in 1930. Previously on Twelfth and K Streets, what had been called Christian Brothers’ College, accepted a donation for the pictured plot of land at...
    • 871
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • Februay 26, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Christian Brothers' School from Y Street

    • 1928
    • This April 10, 1928, photograph shows the façade of the Christian Brothers’ School at the southeast corner of Twenty-First and Y Streets. To the left of the photograph is the 200 by 50 foot main academic building with its classrooms,...
    • 869
    • Christian Brothers’ School Academic Building and Chapel

    • 1930
    • Pictured in 1930 is Christian Brothers’ School at Twenty-First and Y Streets. The ornate Mission Revival-style building was built in 1924 by the Sacramento contracting firm of W.C. Keating. Notable alumni include Superior Court judges Peter J....
    • 870
    • Terzakis Brothers Tailors

    • 1960
    • Pictured in 1961, at 432 J Street, is the Terzakis Brothers’ tailoring shop. The brothers, Thomas and Nicholas, were natives of Greece, having immigrated to the United States in 1905, then moving to Sacramento in 1916. Nicholas previously owned...
    • 314
    • Greenback Notes, 1925

    • 1925-01-01
    • San Juan Union High School is located at 7551 Greenback Lane in Citrus Heights, California. Founded in 1913, it stands as Sacramento County’s second oldest high school behind that of Sacramento High School, established in 1856. The school’s...
    •  
    • Arata Brothers Supermarket

    • 1960
    • Taken in 1960, this photograph reveals the elaborate storefront of the Arata Brothers' Supermarket, located at 2732 Thirty-fourth Street in Oak Park. Pyramid-stacked cans of summer hot house rhubarb flank the store's entrance. The sons of Italian...
    • 753
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • February 19, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Review, February 1921

    • 1921-02-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • January 1, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • February 05, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Coral Reef Lodge - Sacramento, California

    •  
    • The pool and shaded lawn behind the Coral Reef Lodge at 2700 Fulton Avenue is the subject of this postcard. The printed description on the back indicates that the lodge is " 'the quiet place'...away from Freeway 80 traffic...breakfast at La Petite...
    • BBSAC489
    • The Review, 1925

    • 1925-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Sacramento Spokesman: Weinstock-Lubin and Co. Ad

    • August 1923
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock combined efforts in 1875 and opened The Mechanics Store and within a few years their outstanding stock, fixed prices and fair dealing placed them among the top merchants in Sacramento. In 1888 the...
    •  
    • Rose Leaves, 1922

    • 1922-01-01
    • Centered at the junction of the California Central rails and the Central Pacific Railway and named for the abundant wildflowers in the area, the town of Roseville formed a school district in 1869 but had no schoolhouse of its own until 1872. A...
    •  
    • The Review, 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Sacrafornian, 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • Founded in 1876 by the Brothers of the Christian Schools at the southwest corner of Twelfth and K Streets, Christian Brothers School has held subsequent locations at Twenty-First and Broadway, and 4315 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard. After a...
    •  
    • The Review, 1928

    • 1928-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Hotel Clunie and Hale Brothers Department Store

    • 1940
    • This 1940 photograph captures the northeast corner of Eighth and K Streets. The upper floors of the structure were occupied by the 200-room Hotel Clunie at 805 K Street. It was built in 1917 and then renovated in 1929 for 70,000 dollars by hotel...
    • 465

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK