Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 26
(163 results)



Display: 20

    • The Review, 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Rose Leaves, 1923

    • 1923-01-01
    • Centered at the junction of the California Central rails and the Central Pacific Railway and named for the abundant wildflowers in the area, the town of Roseville formed a school district in 1869 but had no schoolhouse of its own until 1872. A...
    •  
    • Del Pasado, 1942

    • 1942-01-01
    • The first local high school built north of the American River was a first in many ways, the result of a need for a school district to educate the far-flung school-age children in the area combined with the practical need for a civic center to bring...
    •  
    • Greenback Notes, 1926

    • 1926-01-01
    • San Juan Union High School is located at 7551 Greenback Lane in Citrus Heights, California. Founded in 1913, it stands as Sacramento County’s second oldest high school behind that of Sacramento High School, established in 1856. The school’s...
    •  
    • The Review, 1942

    • 1942-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Review, June 1911

    • 1911-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Nugget, 1945

    • 1945-01-01
    • C.K. McClatchy Senior High School is located at 3066 Freeport Boulevard in Sacramento, California. Named after “Sacramento Bee” newspaper editor and owner Charles Kenny McClatchy, the school was built in 1937 by way of Public Works Administration...
    •  
    • Greenback Notes, 1928

    • 1928-01-01
    • San Juan Union High School is located at 7551 Greenback Lane in Citrus Heights, California. Founded in 1913, it stands as Sacramento County’s second oldest high school behind that of Sacramento High School, established in 1856. The school’s...
    •  
    • Cathedral of Blessed Sacrament Interior

    • January 26, 1910
    • Shown on January 26, 1910, are the ornate altar and apse of the Cathedral of the Blessed Sacramento, located at 1017 Eleventh Street. Opened in 1889, the structure took three years to build. Its June 30, 1889 dediction included eighth separate...
    • BBSAC186
    • The Visitor

    • June 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • The Wasp

    • July 23, 1898
    • The San Francisco Wasp – based at 514 Market Street – operated as a colorful publication “of illustration and comment,” running from 1876 to 1941. The digitized pages are from July 23, 1898 and February 20, 1904 issues. Founded by the Bohemian...
    •  
    • The Review, April 1910

    • 1910-04-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Review, 1933

    • 1933-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1928

    • 1928-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • Bridge Across American River at Fair Oaks, Sacramento Cal.

    • September 26, 1907
    • This postcard - dated September 26, 1907 - shows the American River, the southern bank of the American River and the Fair Oaks Bridge. The bridge was built in 1901 to connect Fair Oaks with a railroad spur in Folsom. It replaced in 1907 after...
    • BBSAC078
    • Nugget, 1948

    • 1948-01-01
    • C.K. McClatchy Senior High School is located at 3066 Freeport Boulevard in Sacramento, California. Named after “Sacramento Bee” newspaper editor and owner Charles Kenny McClatchy, the school was built in 1937 by way of Public Works Administration...
    •  
    • Interior Scene of Oak Park

    • 1910
    • Shown in 1910 is this unique view of the Oak Park entry arch and street car terminus, a seen from the interior of the Oak Park Amusement Park, located at Fifth Avenue and Thirty-Fifth Street. Its arcade of trees, relative seclusion, and growing...
    • BBSAC576
    • Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • December 18, 1909
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • March 5, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Visitor

    • 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK