Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 2003
(18 results)



Display: 20

    • Building on Eighth and K Streets after Fire

    • 2003
    • This digital image of a burned out Leroy’s Jewelers was taken on the evening of December 29, 2003. The building caught fire in May 2000, exacting over 150,000 dollars in damage and drawing a three alarm response of over 45 firefighters. Up to...
    • 2294a
    • Comstock Building Burns

    • 2003
    • On the afternoon of July 3, 2003, construction and fire crews raze the remains of the Comstock building, located at Eighth and J Streets. Built of brick, the structure was, in part, known for the ornamental tiles that dotted its facade. They had...
    • 2264a
    • Demolition of Leroy's

    • 2003
    • Taken on December 30, 2003, this photograph depicts the demolished Leroy's Jewelers building, located next to the JNJ Gold building.
    • 2294b
    • Mural Dedication in Rubble

    • 2003
    • Taken on December 30, 2003, this photograph shows a dedication board for a mural that covered what had been Leroy’s Jewelers at the southeast corner of Eighth and K Streets. A victim of fire three years earlier, the building was razed the same...
    • 2294c
    • Comstock Building Burns

    • 2003
    • On July 3, 2003 the last of a series of fires caused the razing of the Comstock Building at Eighth and J Streets. The pictured block was filled-in in 2005 with 800 J Lofts, a 46 million dollar mixed housing and retail structure. It was built with...
    • 2264b
    • Comstock Building Burns

    • 2003
    • On July 3, 2003 the last of many fires finally caused the razing of the Comstock Building. These photos show much of the process of quenching the fire and bulldozing the building.
    • 2264c
    • Comstock Building Burns

    • 2003
    • On July 3, 2003 the last of many fires finally caused the razing of the Comstock Building. These photos show much of the process of quenching the fire and bulldozing the building.
    • 2264d
    • Comstock Building Burns

    • 2003
    • On July 3, 2003 the last of many fires finally caused the razing of the Comstock Building. These photos show much of the process of quenching the fire and bulldozing the building.
    • 2264e
    • Comstock Building Burns

    • 2003
    • Breathing its last breath on July 3, 2003, is the Comstock Building at Eighth and J Streets. The three-story building was constructed in 1861 by Leland Stanford and sold to burgeoning Sacramento businessman and native-Austrian Anthony Coolot. He...
    • 2264f
    • Comstock Building Burns

    • 2003
    • On July 3, 2003 the last of many fires finally caused the razing of the Comstock Building. These photos show much of the process of quenching the fire and bulldozing the building.
    • 2264g
    • Comstock Building Burns

    • 2003
    • On July 3, 2003 the last of many fires finally caused the razing of the Comstock Building. These photos show much of the process of quenching the fire and bulldozing the building.
    • 2264h
    • Comstock Building Burns

    • 2003
    • On July 3, 2003 the last of many fires finally caused the razing of the Comstock Building. These photos show much of the process of quenching the fire and bulldozing the building.
    • 2264i
    • Comstock Building Burns

    • 2003
    • On July 3, 2003 the last of many fires finally caused the razing of the Comstock Building. These photos show much of the process of quenching the fire and bulldozing the building.
    • 2264j
    • Comstock Building Burns

    • 2003
    • Amassed before the gutted Comstock Building on July 3, 2003, are units of the Sacramento Fire Department. The fire started at 5 a.m., making short work of the historically vital building, constructed in 1861 and shown to the left. Started soon...
    • 2264k
    • Soroptimist Club of Sacramento

    • 1930
    • Lined up behind a banquet table, in this 1930 photograph, are members of the Soroptimist Club of Sacramento. Seated in the center of the ground is Sacramento Mayor C.H.S. Bidwell while Miss May Keefe is standing in the second row at the top left. ...
    • 2003
    • Ebner Hotel

    • 1960
    • This photograph, taken circa 1960, shows the Ebner Hotel, a rooming house located at 116 K Street that dates to 1856. The structure -- founded by Charles and Francis Ebner -- was considered a landmark to those travelling the Sacramento River and...
    • 576
    • Del Pasado, 1934

    • 1934-01-01
    • The first local high school built north of the American River was a first in many ways, the result of a need for a school district to educate the far-flung school-age children in the area combined with the practical need for a civic center to bring...
    •  
    • Sacramento High School

    • 1940
    • Sacramento High School circa 1940 is the subject of this color postcard bearing the following description on the back: “Sacramento is justly proud of its fine public school system from kindergarten to accredited Junior College. Its two modern...
    • BBSAC953

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK