Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1976
(29 results)



Display: 20

    • Sylvan Oaks Branch

    • 1976
    • This 1976 photograph shows the newly-completed Sylvan Oaks Branch of the Sacramento County Library system, located at 6700 Auburn Boulevard. The branch’s name – Sylvan Oaks – was a amalgam of two former area place names: Sylvan Grant and...
    • PH-SPL-SYL-1-7
    • Library Employees at Arcade Library

    • 1976
    • This 1976 portrait shows, left to right, librarians Lois Schumacher and Janet Larson and financial specialist Robert Wall pose before blueprints of the new Sacramento County Library’s Arcade branch, located at 2443 Marconi Avenue.
    • PH-SPL-ARC-2-20
    • Arcade Library from Marconi Avenue

    • 1976
    • The unique style concept of the Sacramento County Library’s Arcade branch is visibile from the Marconi Avenue in this 1976 photograph. The jet traffic from McClellan Air Force Base as well as vehicular traffic from Marconi and Fulton Avenues were...
    • PH-SPL-ARC-2-27
    • Entrance to Arcade Library

    • 1976
    • This 1976 photograph provides a view of the entrance to the Sacramento County Library’s Arcade branch, located at 2443 Marconi Avenue. The structure – one of the first earth-berm commercial structures in Northern California – was designed by...
    • PH-SPL-ARC-2-30
    • Janet Larson and Jon Hamblin at Arcade Library

    • 1976
    • Shown in October 1976 are branch manager Janet Larson and library employee John Hamblin standing amidst boxes at the Sacramento County Library’s Arcade Branch, located at 2443 Marconi Avenue. Larson would go to the postion of Associate Director...
    • PH-SPL-ARC-2-38
    • High School, Sacramento Calif.

    • 1925
    • Sacramento High School's belltower sits prominently in this circa 1925 postcard. The 43-foot-high feature was removed in 1976, deemed unsafe in view of the state earthquake safety standards. Built in 1924, the brick and mortar school went through...
    • BBSAC664
    • Old Sacramento - 2nd Street

    • 1976
    • This circa 1976 postcard shows Second Street, between I and J streets, in Old Sacramento. The rehabilitation of the historic area came with the January 1961 approval of the California State Parks Commission to create a State Historic Park in the...
    • BBSAC516
    • Sylvan Oaks Branch

    • 1976
    • This circa 1976 image provides a wide view of the Sylvan Oaks Branch of the Sacramento County Library, located at 6700 Auburn Boulevard. With its opening in late-1975, the branch sought to offer, as stated in a promotional document, “a large...
    • PH-SPL-SYL-1-14
    • Janet Larsen at Arcade Library

    • 1976
    • This September 27, 1976 photograph shows branch manager Janet Larson presenting a new library card at the opening of the new Arcade Branch of the Sacramento County Library. It was located at 2443 Marconi Avenue.
    • PH-SPL-ARC-2-1
    • Oaks at Sylvan Oaks Branch

    • 1976
    • A grove of north Sacramento County’s signature oaks shroud the front of the Sylvan Oaks Branch, located at 6700 Auburn Boulevard, in this circa 1976 image. As stated in a 1975 promotional document “Surrounded by ancient oaks, the branch...
    • PH-SPL-SYL-1-15
    • Woman and Child at Arcade Library

    • 1976
    • This September 1976 photograph shows a woman and child standing near the sign of the Sacramento County Library’s new 12,000-square-foot Arcade Branch at 2443 Marconi Avenue.
    • PH-SPL-ARC-2-9
    • Cyclist at Sylvan oaks Branch

    • 1976
    • This circa 1976 photograph show a cyclist making his way through the concrete peiers, metallic roofs and pavillions that make up the Sylvan Oaks Branch of the Sacramento County Library, located at 6700 Auburn Boulevard. The branch was opened in...
    • PH-SPL-SYL-1-23
    • Janet Larsen and Gordon Gill at Arcade Library

    • 1976
    • This September 1976 photograph shows branch manager Janet Larson and Sacramento Municipal Utility District power advisor Gordon Gill talking near the new Arcade Library’s perdiocicals section. A library patron casually reads in the background....
    • PH-SPL-ARC-2-10
    • Sylvan Oaks Branch

    • 1976
    • This circa 1976 image shows a sun-drenched Sylvan Oaks Branch of the Sacramento County Library, as seen from the east. Located on 6700 Auburn Boulevard and born out of a merger between previous Citrus Heights and Foothill Farms branches, Sylvan...
    • PH-SPL-SYL-1-24
    • Interior of Arcade Library

    • 1976
    • This September 1976 image shows the interior of the Sacramento County Library’s Arcade branch, as seen from the building’s circulation desk. The environmental concerns of architect John Harvey Carter were manifested in natural lighting by way...
    • PH-SPL-ARC-2-19
    • Old Sacramento, 1857

    • 2000
    • This circa 2000 postcard shows a painting of the B. F. Hastings Building, at Second and J streets as it appeared in 1857. It was from this building, constructed in 1852/53, that the Pony Express started its first eastward overland journey, on...
    • BBSAC536
    • Pony Express Monument

    • 1980
    • Pictured in 1980 at Second and J Streets is Sacramento’s homage to the Pony Express, the 1,966 mile mail run from the Capital City to St. Joseph, Missouri. The relay was completed in 10 days by 80 riders. Due to the advent of the...
    • 1934b
    • Thys Iron and Steel Foundry

    • 1946
    • Shown here on April 4, 1946, is the Thys Iron and Steel Foundry at 6900 Folsom Boulevard. The business was established in 1940 by the eccentric Edouard Thys, an Eton-educated Belgian aristocrat and electrical engineer, and his equally eccentric...
    • 26
    • Old Sacramento, California State Railroad Museum, Train Engines

    • 2000
    • Highlighting a rich rail past, this circa 2000 postcard shows the Old Sacramento State Historic Park's various railroading features. Exhibits from the California State Railroad Museum, founded in 1976, and the tracks west of Front Street, are...
    • BBSAC538
    • Rhoads Schoolhouse

    • 1970
    • Pictured in 1970 is a faltering Rhoads Schoolhouse, located on Sloughhouse Road, two miles south of the road’s intersection with Jackson Road. Built in 1872, the building was abandoned in 1946. At the time the photograph was taken, it was owned...
    • 2387

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK