Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1968
(25 results)

Display: 20

    • Pioneer House

    • 1968
    • Shown in this 1968 postcard is Pioneer House, located at 400 P Street. The 132-unit, six-story senior living structure was built in 1966. Providing some 78,348 square feet of space, Pioneer House was developed by Cathedral Pioneer Church Homes...
    • BBSAC148
    • Governor's Mansion, Sacramento, Cal. - Dexter Press

    • 1968
    • This 1968 postcard provides a view of the main entrance to the Governor's Mansion with the following description printed on the back, "Built in 1877, the mansion truly represents the early California era. It housed all of California's Governors and...
    • BBSAC422
    • Mansion View Lodge - Tom Hood Photography

    • 1968
    • This postcard featuring the entrance, parking lot and rooms of the Mansion View Lodge in 1968 offers the following enticement on the back, "Opposite Governor's Mansion ...cooled by refrigeration." More than 40 years later both the Governor's...
    • BBSAC468
    • Rolling Green Motel - L.E. Lindholm

    • 1968
    • This circa 1968 postcard shows the Rolling Green Motel. The following description, taken from the postcard's back, promoted one of the many popular motels and lodges that once appeared at regular intervals along Sacramento-area main thoroughfare...
    • BBSAC473
    • Second Street, 1010-1012

    • 1968
    • A side view of Adams Hotel (1012 Second Street) and Brownie's Place (1010 Second Street), 1968. The building at 1014 was the original Alta Telegraph building built around 1853-54.
    • 1845
    • Edward Daniels Shoe Shine Parlor

    • 1968
    • A close-up view of the facade of Edward Daniels Shoe Shine Store, located at 1020 Second Street, includes the front window. Writing on the window reads, "Put(s) out best jobs in town." Mr. Daniels also resided at this address in 1968.
    • 1844
    • The California Exposition, Sacramento - Dexter Press

    • 1968
    • In the this 1968 postcard, fair goers take in the California Exposition's Floriculture Pavilion. Unlike the previous Hall of Flowers, the structure was a tent, known to many, and not always lovingly, as "the big blue tent." Without any artificial...
    • BBSAC342
    • Librarian and Child at Fruitridge Branch

    • 1968
    • In 1968, librarian Audrey Bryant and child stand near the entrance to the Sacramento County Library’s Fruitridge Branch, located at 4020 Twenty-Second Street. Bryant and her husband set up the branch in the home’s garage, running it there from 1949...
    • PH-SPL-FRU-1-5
    • Bank of America, Interior

    • 1921
    • This 1921 interior view of the Bank of America at 530 K Street shows two employees at work. They are surrounded by the safes, filing cabinets, and lighting fixtures of the era. The building was razed in 1968 under the dictates of redevelopment.
    • 83
    • The Flamingo Motel - Rory Foster

    • 1963
    • This 1963 postcard shows West Sacramento's 21-unit Flamingo Motel at 920 West Capitol Avenue. In the 1968 Sacramento phonebook, the motel claimed to have "one of Sacramento's finest" heated swimming pools. It also boasted "courtesy coffee,...
    • BBSAC450
    • Mather AFB Bird Watcher's Guide

    • 1968
    • This circa 1968 pamphlet provides a humorous interpretation of the types of drivers to watch out for at Mather Air Force Base. It was put together by the Mather Ground Safety Council, which was in charge of driver education and safety at the base.
    • EC-GOV-b07f02i12
    • Del Paso Country Club, Sacramento, California

    • 1962
    • Shown, in this circa 1962 postcard, is the pool at the Del Paso Country Club, located at 3333 Marconi Avenue. Orignally built in 1929, the pool underwent large scale repairs in 1968.
    • BBSAC783
    • Cal Expo - Kyle S. Smith

    • 1990
    • This circa 1990 postcard provides an aerial view, as seen from the west, of the grounds of the California State Fair, located at the 1600 Exposition Boulevard. Although purchased for use by the State in 1948, the 350-acre venue wasn't opened until...
    • BBSAC338


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search