Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1958
(40 results)

Display: 20

    • Country Club Centre

    • 1958
    • This 1958 photograph provides a view of Country Club Centre at Watt Avenue and El Camino Boulevard. Opening in August 1952 by way of the theater designs of Joseph Blumenfeld, it soon occurred to him that the northern county's burgeoning population...
    • 1338
    • Highlands High School

    • 1958
    • This circa 1958 sketch provides a view of the would be Highlands High School. It was designed by firm of Starks, Jozens and Nacht offers a black and white look at the surrounding area before development. Located at Don Julio Boulevard and Guthrie...
    • 1217
    • Country Club Centre

    • 1958
    • A car show occupies the massive parking lot of Country Club Centre in this 1958 photograph. The development, designed by San Francisco-based architect William B. David, covered a lot of 13-acres and was considered to be Sacramento's first regional...
    • 1335
    • Country Club Centre

    • 1958
    • Country Club Centre, at Watt and El Camino Avenues, is shown in this 1958 photograph. The spot was called the "largest shopping development in California involving chains stores." In its original form and with a 4,000,000 million dollar price...
    • 1336
    • Librarians at Main Library

    • 1936
    • Pictured in circa 1936 are librarians Dorothy Drake (left) and Grace Taylor Dean. Drake went on to serve as the library’s director from 1958 to 1971. Dean, a graduate of Sacramento High School and library director from 1933 to 1958, holds the...
    • PH-SPL-CEN-1-1
    • California's State Capitol from the Mall, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1958
    • This circa 1958 postcard shows Capitol Mall, between Eighth and Ninth streets, running toward the west-facing facade of the California State Capitol building. The stretch of road had its name changed from M Street to Capitol Avenue in October...
    • BBSAC274
    • Country Club Centre

    • 1958
    • Looking east, this 1958 photograph provides a view of Country Club Centre. The spot offered a three gala opening for August 21, 22 and 23, 1952, which included free lucky hats and pony rides for children and free Coca Cola and Dr. Pepper. ...
    • 1360
    • Guy Foulks, Genevieve Didion, and Percy West

    • 1958
    • Pictured in 1958, and posing next to a historic painting, are a few Sacramento-area notables signing a document. The seated woman is Genevieve Didion, longtime member of the Board of the Sacramento Unified School District. She started her run...
    • 1390
    • J.C. Penney

    • 1958
    • This circa 1958 photograph shows the J.C. Penney Company department store at 630 K Street. The 96,000 square foot store was opened in February 1957, making it one of the five largest Penney's outlets at that time. The windowless, six story...
    • 161
    • Looking Toward the Capitol from 8th Street, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1958
    • Shown in circa 1958 is Capitol Mall, as seen from the west and between Seventh and Eighth streets. To the right is the State Employment Department building, built in 1955; to the left is the five story State Personnel Board building, also opening...
    • BBSAC275
    • Sacramento Inn, Pool Side - Mike Roberts

    • 1958
    • The printed description on the back of this postcard sent in 1958 declares, "Sacramento's fabulous Garden Inn offers 150 rooms, coffee house, dining and dancing nightly with every modern covenience. Eight minutes east of the Capital City on Highway...
    • BBSAC482
    • California Redwoods

    • 1958
    • This uninspired color photograph of a vintage automobile travelling through the California redwoods was one of a group of stock postcards purchased to promote Lew Williams Chevrolet Center at 2449 Fulton Avenue. Mailed for three cents on December...
    • BBSAC786
    • Sacramento Business and Professional Women’s Club Portrait

    • 1958
    • Several members of Sacramento’s Business and Professional Women’s Club pose in this 1958 photograph. Founded in 1919, the group sought to elevate the standards for women in business and the professions, thereby promoting the overall economic,...
    • 2292
    • Sacramento Business and Professional Women’s Club Gathering

    • 1958
    • Members of the Sacramento’s Business and Professional Women’s Club look toward the camera in this 1958 photograph. Those pictured are attending a convention and are delegates representing California’s BPWC Region Three. The BPWC’s statewide body...
    • 2293
    • Entrance Gate, Sutter's Fort

    • 1958
    • In this circa 1958 postcard, visitors make their way through the southern entrance to Sutter's Fort, located at Twenty-Sixth and K streets. Built in 1839, and after a long period of dormancy, the fort was opened as a museum in 1893. Its walls...
    • BBSAC871
    • Country Club Centre

    • 1958
    • This circa 1958 postcard shows the entrance to Country Club Centre, located at the southwest corner of Watt Avenue and El Camino Avenue. The 20-acre shopping center was opened in 1952 under the leadership of Joseph Blumenfeld, becoming -- at the...
    • BBSAC602
    • Interior of Sacramento High School Girl's Gym

    • 1958
    • Photograph, taken April 7, 1958, of recreational basketball teams practicing in the old Sacramento High School Girls' Gymnasium, now demolished. One team is wearing jerseys of Household Finance. In the background, young men can be seen playing...
    • 1152
    • Old Tavern

    • 1958
    • Shown in circa 1958 is the interior of the Old Tavern, located at Twenty-Eighth Street and Capitol Avenue. The two story stucco and wood Bavarian half-timber-style structure can draw its origins to 1849, when it was established as a brewery. Over...
    • BBSAC649
    • La Rosa Restaurant

    • 1940
    • This circa 1940 menu represents the La Rosa Restaurant, located at 813 L Street. Opened in 1928 by Italian immigrants Angelina and Luis Folatti, the spot closed its doors in 1958.
    • Mansion Inn

    • 1960
    • Shown is a circa 1960 menu for the Mansion Inn, located at the northwest corner of Sixteenth and H streets. Opening in 1958, the 51-unit motor court was designed by the local architectural firm of Dreyfuss and Blackford.


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search