Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1882
(26 results)

Display: 20

    • Themis

    • March 10, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    • Southern Pacific Railroad Arcade Depot

    • 1882
    • Located on G Street, between Second and Third Streets, and shown here in 1882 is the three track Central Pacific depot, also commonly known as the “Arcade Station.” One of the most modern stations of its day, the gothic-style garage, with its...
    • 852
    • California National Bank Building, Sacramento, California

    • 1940
    • The California National Bank was organized in 1882 as the California State Bank and helmed by Norman Rideout, a hands-on local banker since 1850 known to ride shotgun on gold deliveries from the mines to Sacramento. The heavy brick structure on...
    • BBSAC092
    • Walter Bennett Home

    • Captured on the west side of Twelfth Street, between E and F Streets, is the home of blacksmith Walter Bennett, at 512 Twelfth Street. Water was the son of Henry Bennett, a Canadian who immigrated to Sacramento in the 1875 and opened his Alkali...
    • BBSAC582
    • Lavenson’s Shoes

    • 1939
    • The salon-like showroom of Lavenson’s Shoes at 1018-1020 K Street is shown in this June 17, 1939 photograph. The store was founded in 1877 by Gus Lavenson. By 1942 it was recognized as the oldest firm of its kind on the west coast under the same...
    • 453
    • Hall of Records and Court House, Sacramento, Cal - M. Rieder

    • 1900
    • Shown in circa 1900 are, to the left, the Hall of Records and, to the right, County Courthouse. The Hall of Records was completed in 1882 for a cost of 45,000 dollars by contractors Carle and Croly, and considered "entirely fire proof," with only...
    • BBSAC118
    • Hall of Records and County Court House - Edward M. Mitchell

    • 1906
    • Shown in 1906, and on the north side of I Street, are, to the left, the Hall of Records, and, to the right, the County Courthouse. Opened in April 1882, the Hall of Records -- distinguished by its heavy iron doors and granite exterior -- took one...
    • BBSAC119
    • You'll Never Miss the Lager…Theatre Comique

    • 1882
    • This 1882 flier announces the opening of James T. Browne's Theatre Comique at K Street, between Second and Front streets. The concern replaced what had been the Capital Theatre (owned by F.W. Fratt). Said the Sacramento Union, Browne "proposes to...
    • EC-THE-TH-b12f02i01
    • First Evangelical Church

    • 1929
    • This March 6, 1929, photograph shows the newly-completed First Evangelical Church, located at 1506 Tenth Street. Built in less than six months, the brick church cost its congregation 25,000 dollars. The First Evangelical Church – comprised mostly...
    • 517
    • Bought of Kirk, Geary & Co

    • 1900
    • This 1900 billhead records a transaction between Sacramento's Kirk, Geary, and Company drugstore and Mr. T.H. Johnson of Cedarville, California. The store, located at 416 J Street, was founded in 1882 by William Geary and Jenne Kirk.
    • EC-BUS-b04f04i05
    • The Review, June 1902

    • 1902-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    • Anybody's Magazine Vol.1 No.6

    • October 1906
    • Anybody’s Magazine (also referenced in the publication is Sacramento Home Monthly) was a short lived monthly publication, created in Sacramento, California. It charged readers $1.00 a year for a subscription, with single copies running for 10...
    • Van Voorhies-Phinney Saddlers

    • 1960
    • This pre-redevelopment photograph, taken in 1960, shows the weathered façade, complete with horse busts, of the Van Voorhies-Phinney building at 322 through 324 J Street. The three-story building was constructed in 1882 to serve one of the premier...
    • 278
    • Hauling Wheat in California, Sacramento

    • “Wheat farming dominated the life and economy of the Sacramento Valley from 1867 until 1893.” Acreage of wheat planted increase from 200,000 in 1866 to 400,000 in 1873, increasing to 1,000,000 in 1882. By 1865 the price paid for California grain...
    • BBSAC019
    • Llewellyn Williams House

    • 1895
    • Pictured in 1895 at 917 H Street is the Llewellyn Williams House. Its namesake, Llewellyn Williams, was the home’s first resident. It was built in 1882 by architects Seth Babson and James Seadler in the style of Victorian Stick, characterized by...
    • 2277
    • Residence of H.G. Smith, Sacramento, Cal. - Blank Back

    • 1890
    • Seen here in 1890, this residence at 917 “H” Street was built in 1882 by architects Seth Babson and James Seadler in the style of ‘Victorian Stick,’ characterized by rectangular shaping, wood siding, and a steep, gabled roof with overhanging...
    • BBSAC361


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search