Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1881
(12 results)



Display: 20

    • The Visitor

    • August 1892
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock expanded their original store into the largest mail-order business on the West Coast by 1875, and that store became an emporium. Incorporated in 1888 with plans of building more stores, the...
    •  
    • First Evangelical Church

    • 1929
    • This March 6, 1929, photograph shows the newly-completed First Evangelical Church, located at 1506 Tenth Street. Built in less than six months, the brick church cost its congregation 25,000 dollars. The First Evangelical Church – comprised mostly...
    • 517
    • The Greenbriar Motor Hotel - A Colourpicture Publication

    •  
    • This postcard depicts the Greenbriar Motel Hotel at 4331 Stockton Boulevard. Built in the early 1950s, the business sat near what was considered to be some of the finest wine vinyards in Northern California. The 240-acre property was owned by...
    • BBSAC455
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • January 15, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • California State Fair-Boraxaid Exhibit

    • 1895
    • This exhibit for the 1895 California State Fair was done by the Pacific Coast Borax Company. The display proclaims "Borax is King," "A Home Industry," and a presence "From Death Valley Mines to Alameda Factory." Discovered in Death Valley in 1881,...
    • 641
    • K Street, 530 & 531

    • 1940
    • In this 1940 photograph, the intersection of K and Sixth Streets shows Bank of America at 530 K Street and Goldstein Morris Pawnbrokers at 531 K Street. The lettering in the window of the pawnshop indicates the store is moving to 1011 Eighth...
    • 1881
    • Entrance to State Capitol Park

    • 1907
    • This 1907 postcard shows the southwest entrance to the California State Capitol Building's grounds. The granite piers, to either side of the entrance, were installed in 1881 and were harvested from a quary at Folsom Prison.
    • BBSAC260
    • State Capitol, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1900
    • This circa 1900 postcard shows the corner of Tenth and L streets. The granite piers at either side of the entrance were put into place in 1881 to a crowd of 100 onlookers who cheered when installation was complete. Each pier weighed roughly 15...
    • BBSAC261
    • The Review, June 1907

    • 1907-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Folsom State Prison Original Administrative Building

    • 1905
    • Pictured in circa 1905 is the Folsom Prison’s ivy-shrouded administrative building, completed in 1881. Up until 1914, the Warden’s residence was located on the top floor of the building. It was moved to just beyond the East Gate that same year. ...
    • 2211c
    • State Capitol Building, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1945
    • Shown in circa 1945 is the southernmost portico of the California State Capitol building. The twin piers on either side of the streetside gate are made of Folsom Prison granite and were installed in 1881 by architect W.H. Hamilton. They were...
    • BBSAC276

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK