Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1880
(34 results)



Display: 20

    • Neubourg and Lages Company

    • 1880
    • This circa 1880 postcard shows the Neubourg and Lages milling and malting business, also known as the Star Mills and Malt House, located on the west side of Fifth Street, between J and K Streets. Founded in 1866, by Christopher Lages and Leonard...
    • BBSAC172
    • Dr. Gregory W. Phelan

    • 1880
    • Pictured in 1880 is Sacramento physician, Dr. Gregory W. Phelan. Born in New York State in 1822, Phelan came to Sacramento in 1849 as part of the Gold Rush. He soon thereafter started a medical practice which would operate until 1870. Outside of...
    • 998
    • The Review, June 1898

    • 1898-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • January 29, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Welcome to You Young Man

    • 1880
    • This circa 1880 invitation urges Sacramento's young men to visit the Young Men's Christian Association, located on the northeast corner of Sixth and K streets. The organization moved to a larger site in 1915, at Fifth and J streets.
    • EC-CLU-b05f06i02
    • Sacrafornian, 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • Founded in 1876 by the Brothers of the Christian Schools at the southwest corner of Twelfth and K Streets, Christian Brothers School has held subsequent locations at Twenty-First and Broadway, and 4315 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard. After a...
    •  
    • Hotel Clunie and Hale Brothers Department Store

    • 1940
    • This 1940 photograph captures the northeast corner of Eighth and K Streets. The upper floors of the structure were occupied by the 200-room Hotel Clunie at 805 K Street. It was built in 1917 and then renovated in 1929 for 70,000 dollars by hotel...
    • 465
    • Second Street:  908 through 914

    • 1970
    • Shown in this circa 1970 photograph, on the west side of Second Street, is the Hotel Enterprise at 914 Second Street. Built in circa 1880, the building was originally the home to Hall, Luhrs and Company Wholesale Grocers, one of the first...
    • 1564d
    • Steamer Towing Freight Barge on Sacramento River, California

    • 1900
    • Shown in circa 1900, a tug and barge make their way along the Sacramento River. The Sacramento to San Francisco corridor was alive with traffic at the turn of the century. Between 1880 and 1903, shipments between Sacramento and San Francisco...
    • BBSAC711
    • The Review, June 1910

    • 1910-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    •  
    • Orange Grove, Fair Oaks Districts, Near Sacramento, CA

    •  
    • "Among the earliest California oranges to reach Eastern markets are the products of the many fine groves in the Fair Oaks district" is the description printed on the back of this postcard. From 1880 to the late 1940s citrus in California grew...
    • BBSAC003
    • Themis

    • March 3, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Themis

    • March 10, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • West Gate of Folsom State Prison

    • 1900
    • This circa 1900 photograph shows the inner portion of the Folsom Prison’s West Gate. Just beyond the gate is the administrative building, with the Warden’s residence on the top floor. Left of the frame is the prison’s original cellblock. ...
    • 2210a
    • Folsom State Prison Old Administrative Building and Cellblock

    • 1900
    • As seen from the northeast in circa 1900 is Gothic-style Folsom State Prison. As early as 1878, it was the State’s intent to make Folsom a branch prison of San Quentin. In accord, it received its first 44 inmates from San Quentin in July 1880. ...
    • 2212b
    • Themis

    • April 14, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Mrs. E. B. Crocker's Residence

    •  
    • This photograph taken circa 1880 is of the residence of Mrs. E. B. Crocker (located at Third and O Streets). In 1884, the Crocker Art Gallery became the property of the City of Sacramento.
    • 1721

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK