Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1878
(15 results)

Display: 20

    • Pride of the River Steamboat

    • 1911
    • The "Pride of the River" is shown in action, somewhere near Sacramento on the Sacramento River. This photograph of the riverboat, built in 1878 for the California Transportation Company, was taken in 1911. The ship's maiden voyage was a 20-minute...
    • 1966a
    • Folsom State Prison Old Administrative Building and Cellblock

    • 1900
    • As seen from the northeast in circa 1900 is Gothic-style Folsom State Prison. As early as 1878, it was the State’s intent to make Folsom a branch prison of San Quentin. In accord, it received its first 44 inmates from San Quentin in July 1880. ...
    • 2212b
    • Pride of the River Steamboat

    • 1911
    • Plying the waters since 1878, the steamboat "Pride of the River" is shown in action, in circa 1911, somewhere along the Sacramento River. The 175-foot-long craft was constructed at San Francisco's Meigg's Wharf and could carry up to 500 tons of...
    • 1966b
    • Bell Conservatory Co.

    • 1930
    • As seen from the east in circa 1930 are the greenhouse and hothouses of the Bell Conservatory, located at Y Street, between Ninth and Tenth Streets. Originally called the Bell Agricultural Experiment Station, the structure was built in 1878 by way...
    • 2165a
    • Bell Conservatory Co.

    • 1935
    • Pictured in circa 1935, at 931 Broadway, is a support structure for the Bell Conservatory Company, a longstanding spot for horticultural research and a supplier of floral goods in Sacramento, dating back to 1878. Covering six acres, the business...
    • 2165b
    • Mason's Steam Laundry

    • 1893
    • This circa 1893 photograph captures the staff of Mason’s Steam Laundry as they pose before the business’s complex at Twelfth and D Streets. The engines driving the business’s growth were native-German Fred Mason and his wife Caroline, a...
    • 411
    • High Lights, 1931

    • 1931-01-01
    • A canny businessman and idealistic philanthropist, David Lubin and his brother-in-law Harris Weinstock made Weinstock-Lubin the Sacramento area’s best-known and most popular mercantile establishment for over a century. By the time of his death in...
    • Citizens Bank

    • 1950
    • Citizens Bank, located at the corner of Thirty-fifth Street and Fourth Avenue, is the focus of this photograph, taken circa 1950. This bank became Anglo California National Bank in January of 1950.
    • 1878
    • The Wasp

    • July 23, 1898
    • The San Francisco Wasp – based at 514 Market Street – operated as a colorful publication “of illustration and comment,” running from 1876 to 1941. The digitized pages are from July 23, 1898 and February 20, 1904 issues. Founded by the...
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • April 2, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    • Official Gazette

    • April 15, 1918
    • In April 1915, Sacramento’s City Commission, a governing body that had been in place since July 1912, set itself to transparency with the release of its Official Gazette (known also as the Municipal Gazette). Founded through unanimous vote from...
    • Themis

    • March 17, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    • West Gate of Folsom State Prison

    • 1900
    • This circa 1900 photograph shows the inner portion of the Folsom Prison’s West Gate. Just beyond the gate is the administrative building, with the Warden’s residence on the top floor. Left of the frame is the prison’s original cellblock. ...
    • 2210a
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1928

    • 1928-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    • Mrs. Elizabeth Richardson

    • 1873
    • Mrs. Elizabeth Richardson, pictured here circa 1873, was the wife of dairyman John Frink Richardson. Born in England in October 1817; she came to the United States in 1841 and settled in Sacramento in 1849. Upon arriving in the young city, she...
    • 1001


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search