Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1873
(23 results)



Display: 20

    • Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • December 18, 1909
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Central Pacific Railroad Shops

    • 1873
    • This 1873 photograph shows the prime facilities of the Central Pacific Railroad shops. In the foreground is the 90 by 230-foot car building shop. To the left of it is the 60 by 125-foot blacksmith shop. Behind both is the cabinet shop, boasting...
    • 858
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • December 25, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • California State Capitol under construction

    • 1873
    • The California State Capitol building is shown here under construction, circa 1873. The photograph is taken from the Leland Stanford Home, located to the southwest of the Capitol at Eighth and N Streets. The State Printing Plant, erected in 1872,...
    • 205
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • January 1, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • John Frink Richardson

    • 1873
    • This photograph of prominent Sacramento dairyman John Frink Richardson was taken in circa 1873. Richardson arrived in Sacramento on September 1, 1850, from Wyoming County, New York. He died in January of 1906 and is buried in the City Cemetery.
    • 1000
    • Mrs. Elizabeth Richardson

    • 1873
    • Mrs. Elizabeth Richardson, pictured here circa 1873, was the wife of dairyman John Frink Richardson. Born in England in October 1817; she came to the United States in 1841 and settled in Sacramento in 1849. Upon arriving in the young city, she...
    • 1001
    • Central Pacific Railroad Locomotive “A.A. Sargent”

    • 1865
    • Taken in 1865, this photograph shows the Central Pacific Railroad locomotive “A. A. Sargent,” also known as number seven, at the foot of J Street, facing east from Front Street. The locomotive’s namesake, Aaron Augustus Sargent, served as...
    • 857
    • Great Canyon of the Sierra, Yosemite, 1871

    • 1990
    • This circa 1990 postcard shows Thomas Hill's "Great Canyon of the Sierra," which gained the prestigious New York Pallette AClub medal. E.B. and Margaret Crocker purchased the painting in 1873, then hanging it on the south wall of what would become...
    • BBSAC112
    • The Review, June 1898

    • 1898-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Central Pacific Railroad Locomotive “A.A. Sargent”

    • 1865
    • Taken in 1865, this photograph shows the Central Pacific Railroad locomotive “A. A. Sargent,” also known as number seven, at the foot of J Street, facing east from Front Street. The locomotive’s namesake, Aaron Augustus Sargent, served as...
    • 2475
    • The Review, June 1912

    • 1912-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Virginia and Truckee Railroad's Locomotive No. 13

    • 2000
    • Shown in circa 2000 is the Virginia and Truckee Railroad's locomotive number 13, also known as "Empire" and 15 as 13 was considered an unlucky number. Built in 1873 and retired in 1922, the Empire was repurposed as a switcher for spell, but has...
    • BBSAC623
    • Crocker Art Gallery, Sacramento, California - E.P. Charlton & Company

    • September 9, 1905 & May 10, 1906
    • This circa 1905 postcard shows the E.B. Crocker Art Gallery, located at Second and O streets. Opened to the public in 1873 and bequethed to the city of Sacramento and California Museum Association in 1885, one of the first tasks of the...
    • BBSAC100
    • Greenback Notes, 1925

    • 1925-01-01
    • San Juan Union High School is located at 7551 Greenback Lane in Citrus Heights, California. Founded in 1913, it stands as Sacramento County’s second oldest high school behind that of Sacramento High School, established in 1856. The school’s...
    •  
    • Crocker Art Gallery, Sacramento, California - Edward H. Mitchell

    • 1900
    • Shown at Second and O streets in 1900 is the Crocker Art Gallery. The venue was opened to the public in 1873, and then gifted to the city of Sacramento and California Museum Association in March 1885 -- an act, in the eyes of the Sacramento Daily...
    • BBSAC101
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • March 12, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Review, June 1914

    • 1914-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Sacramento Churches, English and German Lutheran

    • 1909
    • Presented in 1909 are Sacramento's English Lutheran Church at 1018 Sixteenth Street and the German Lutheran Church at 1207 K Street. The former was founded in 1890 at Fireman's Hall, moving to the pictured location in 1897. The latter was...
    • BBSAC196

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK