Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1855
(18 results)



Display: 20

    • Themis

    • April 7, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • The Review, June 1898

    • 1898-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Themis

    • April 14, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • East of Second Street

    • 1960
    • Taken in circa 1960, this photograph shows the Bethesda Christian Church, at 209 J Street. The structure had been erected in 1855 by Irishman John C. Keenan as the fabled Fashion Saloon.
    • 950
    • Chief Engineer, City Fire Dep., Sacramento, CA

    • 1910
    • This circa 1910 postcard shows the Eureka Engine Company Number Four Fire House and the office of the Fire Department's Chief Engineer, located at 1017 Fifth Street. The building was constructed in 1855 and survived until redevelopment in the...
    • BBSAC136
    • Waterhouse's Paper

    • April 10, 1908
    • The Sacramento-based Waterhouse’s Paper was started in the spring of 1908 by attorney, humorist, poet and writer A.J. Waterhouse. The weekly, 16-page publication was devoted to “comment, fiction, satire, humor and philosophy, portrayed in verse...
    •  
    • J Street, 221-231

    • 1960
    • Numerous cars are parked at the curb in this J Street view. The Welcome Hotel at 221 J is an historic building, erected in October of 1855 by Milton S. Latham, a pioneer attorney for Sacramento and El Dorado Counties. Latham became a Congressman...
    • 979
    • Old Sacramento Historical Area

    •  
    • The description on the back of this postcard reads, "Joseph Heywood's Building (left) erected in 1857. In the 1860's housing the National Gold Bank. Later occupied by Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co., founded by Leland Stanford. To the right are...
    • BBSAC515
    • Bird's-eye View of Sutter's Fort 1848, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1920
    • This circa 1920 postcard provides a rendering, as seen from the south, of Sutter's Fort at Twenty-Seventh and L streets. Perhaps the compound's most defining days came during the California Gold Rush of 1848 to 1855 when, with 10 to 12 stores in...
    • BBSAC840
    • Happy Time Cafe

    • 1960
    • This 1960 photograph shows a repurposed Eureka Engine Company Number Four Fire House at 1017 Fifth Street. Built in 1855, in the photograph, the structure holds the Happy Time Cafe at 1017 Fifth Street. The restaurant was operated by Peter Carli,...
    • 313
    • The Review, June 1908

    • 1908-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Ledyard Frink, Hotel Owner

    •  
    • Ledyard Frink was an early Sacramento pioneer who came overland with his wife in a covered wagon, reaching Sacramento on September 1, 1850. He built a hotel on the southwest corner of Seventh and K Streets in the early 1850's and was a member of...
    • 1176
    • Merchant Street, Looking West

    • 1960
    • Shown in 1960 is a photograph of the blighted south side of Merchant Street between Fifth and Sixth Streets. Central to the photograph and behind a tree is the abandoned Inland Press building at 508 through 510 Merchant Street. In the distance is...
    • 1460
    • First Christian Church

    • 1982
    • The First Christian Church at 3901 Folsom Boulevard is the subject of this postcard distributed by Cimini Graphics of West Sacramento that features the simple and for 1982 very modern-looking place of worship. The Disciples of Christ claim over...
    • BBSAC945
    • Paintersville Bridge

    • 1930
    • This 1930 photograph shows the Paintersville Bridge spanning the Sacramento River at a spot just south of Courtland. The bridge, a length of 200 feet, was named after Indiana native Levi Painter, who, in 1855, purchased a 123 acre ranch, and...
    • 192
    • Old Sacramento, Cal. - Gold Rush Days

    • 2000
    • Horse and carriage occupy a dirt-covered stretch of Second Street in this 2000 postcard, commemorating Gold Rush Days. Started in 1998, event organizers bring in an average of 200 tons of dirt to add authenticity of the celebration that aims to...
    • BBSAC534

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK