Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1850s
(9 results)



Display: 20

    • Steamboat Races on the River

    • 1905
    • This circa 1905 postcard shows a steamboat race coming off in a tightly packed Sacramento River. Steamer racing had been conducted on the river, and around Sacramento, going back to the 1850s, one of the first taking place in November 1856 between...
    • BBSAC724
    • Breuner's Furniture Company

    • 1945
    • The venerable Breuner's furniture store rests at its 604 K Street location in 1945. John Breuner - after sailing around Cape Horn in the early 1850s - started his business in 1856 and it stayed in operation for over 120 years. Bruener's was...
    • 37
    • Palm Bordered Residence Street, Sacramento, California

    • 1935
    • Palm trees were planted in California as early as 1769 but varieties of the 130 species found outside of the tropics, including 11 native to North America, didn't appear in Sacramento for nearly a century. Construction of the State Capitol ...
    • BBSAC972
    • Aerial View of Rio Vista, California

    • 1970
    • This circa 1970 postcard shows the city of Rio Vista, California. Founded in the early 1850s by Colonel N.H. Davis at the junction of the Sacramento River and Cache Slough, the spot was originally called Brazos del Rio or "arms of the river." The...
    • BBSAC058
    • Old Sacramento School House Museum

    • 1970
    • The School House Museum just east of the Sacramento River is a faithful reproduction of a classic California school from the 19th century and a popular stop for visitors to Old Sacramento. The school house is often enlivened by volunteers in period...
    • BBSAC944
    • Del Monte Hotel

    • 1960
    • Taken circa 1960, this photograph shows a construction site in front of a building which had been the Del Monte Hotel. Originally known as the Mechanics' Exchange from the 1850s until 1900, the establishment was taken over by Henry W. Wood and was...
    • 1842
    • Dr. Henry Yee’s Herb Shop

    • 1935
    • This photograph of the interior of Yee’s Herb Shop at 707-and-a-half J Street was taken in circa 1935. Its founder, Henry Yee, came to Sacramento from China in 1906 and would come to live a life of varied interests. After graduating from the...
    • 742
    • Mrs. Ledyard Frink

    •  
    • Mrs. Ledyard Frink was an early Sacramento pioneer who came overland with her husband in a covered wagon, reaching Sacramento on September 1, 1850. Her husband, Ledyard Frink built a hotel on the southwest corner of Seventh and K Streets in the...
    • 1175

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK