Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: (925
(25 results)



Display: 20

    • Lim Yuen Cafe

    • 1960
    • Seen from the street, this building, which appears well maintained, has four street level entrances. The entrance at the left is Lim Yuen Caf (925 Third Street). It has a tidy awning over the doorway and Chinese characters written on the window. ...
    • 730
    • Third Street, 921 through 925

    • 1960
    • Pictured in 1960 are the Chinese Republic Restaurant at 921 Third Street and the Lim Yuen Cafe at 925 Third Street.
    • 731
    • Second Street:  917 though 925

    • 1960
    • Captured in this 1960 photograph are Buck's Irish Shanty at 917 Second Street, Capitol Rooms Lodgings at 919 Second Street, Winnie's Cafe at 921 Second Street, and the Copa De Or Restaurant at 925 Second Street.
    • 1442
    • Second Street:  925 through 931

    • 1960
    • This circa 1960 street scene shows the Palace Hotel at 927 Second Street. Adjacent to the hotel entry are the Speedboat Cafe at 929 Second Street, Zakar Shoe Repair at 931 Second Street, and a portion of the Copa De Oro restaurant at 925 Second...
    • 605
    • Elks Lodge Number 6

    • 1930
    • Viewed from the southeast, on August 27, 1930, is the monolithic Elks Lodge Number 6 at 925 Eleventh Street. Dedicated on July 3, 1926, fundraising for the 1.5 million dollar structure started in 1905. In the one year that it took a crew of 150...
    • 909
    • K Street, Toward the Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament

    • 1913
    • A bustling scene on K Street was captured in this 1913 photograph. A horse and wagon in the photograph’s foreground contrasts a slowly shifting paradigm toward the use of automobiles. Sidewalks are lined with pedestrians. In the background and...
    • 1365
    • Second Street, 921-927

    • 1960
    • This c1960 view of store fronts along Second Street was taken from across the street. Cars are parked along the curbs, but there are no people in view. From left to right the stores are: Winnie's Caf (921 Second Street), Greco's Caf (923 Second...
    • 1386
    • Greenback Notes, 1926

    • 1926-01-01
    • San Juan Union High School is located at 7551 Greenback Lane in Citrus Heights, California. Founded in 1913, it stands as Sacramento County’s second oldest high school behind that of Sacramento High School, established in 1856. The school’s...
    •  
    • J Street, 612-618

    • 1960
    • This view of vacant stores displays signs identifying the Rancho Grande Restaurant (612 J Street), Capital Glass Company (614 J Street), Al & Ray's Music Store (616 J Street), and Star Barber Shop (618 J Street). An automobile is parked at the...
    • 925
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • Aerial View of a Parade

    • 1930
    • In this circa 1930 photograph, a parade ooches west on J Street. Legible signs include the Travelers Hotel at 460 J Street, the Berkeley Hotel 418 J Street and the Sutter Theater at 519 J Street. In the distance, the Elks Club building at 925...
    • 2085
    • The Review, 1930

    • 1930-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • The Review, June 1914

    • 1914-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Top of the Town

    • 1950
    • This circa 1950 postcard promotes the Top of the Town restaurant, located on the fourteenth floor of the Elks Temple at 925 Eleventh Street. Providing a 360-degree view of the Sacramento and Yolo Counties, it opened in the late 1940s and closed in...
    • BBSAC645
    • The Home Designer

    • June 1925
    • Shown above is a Sacramento-focused issue of The Home Designer. Established by architect Walter W. Dixon (1884-1953) and German-born builder R.C. Hillen (1883-1955) in June 1921, the Oakland-based, monthly publication sought to increase the...
    •  
    • Installation Team B.P.O.E.

    • 1930
    • Taken in the Elks Club, this is a formal posed group photograph of the installation team of the B.P.O.E. The eight members are identified as follows. Back Row: Paul Cruise, Grand Lecturing Knight. Arthur L. Case, Grand Chaplain. Carl Daseking,...
    • 1693
    • Palace Hotel Building

    • 1960
    • This photograph of the Palace Hotel Building including Hunter's Drug Company (201 J Street), Copa De Oro Restaurant (925 Second Street), Zakar Shoe Repair (931 Second Street) was taken circa 1960. Pedestrians trod the sidewalks, two men look at a...
    • 318
    • Budweiser Coach in Front of the Elks Temple

    • 1950
    • This circa 1950 photograph shows a horse-drawn Budweiser wagon resting outside of the Elks Temple at 925 Eleventh Street. To the right of the picture is a sign for the Top of the Town Restaurant, a fourteenth-floor eatery and lounge that provided...
    • 911

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK