Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: (900
(28 results)



Display: 20

    • The Elk 1915

    • 1915-01-01
    • Growing children with no available outlet for further education was incentive enough for sixteen elementary school districts to establish California’s first union high school in Elk Grove. The initial building was housed in what is now Old Town...
    •  
    • Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • December 18, 1909
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • Van Voorhies-Phinney Collar Factory on Fifth Street

    • 1960
    • Resting at 912 and 914 Fifth Street is the former Van Voorhies-Phinney horse collar factory, pictured in 1960. It was built in 1909/10, producing award-winning collars at the California State Fair. The building stood well into the 1960s, and was...
    • 291
    • Crosswalk at Ninth and K Streets

    • 1945
    • A frenzied scene of pedestrian and automobile traffic clogs the intersection of Ninth and K Streets in this 1945 photograph. Between 1945 and 1946, total national retail income rose from 18.2 billion dollars to 19.8 billion dollars, and a bustling...
    • 1411a
    • Crosswalk at Ninth and K Streets

    • 1945
    • A frenzied scene of pedestrian and automobile traffic clogs the intersection of Ninth and K Streets in this 1945 photograph. Between 1945 and 1946, total national retail income rose from 18.2 billion dollars to 19.8 billion dollars, and a bustling...
    • 1411b
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1929

    • 1929-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • Seventh Street:  906 through 914

    • 1961
    • Emergency Bail Bond Service at 900 Seventh Street, Clyde's Office Supply at 906 Seventh Street, the American Typewriter Exchange at 908 Seventh Street, and the Sacramento County Free Library headquarters at 914 Seventh Street are all visible in...
    • 1614
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • American Can Company

    • 1945
    • This 1945 photograph shows the steamy interior of the American Can Company at 3325 C Street. Founded in 1926, by 1951, American employed 900 workers during the canning season and 275 over the winter months. In total, American’s employees...
    • 1468
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • January 1, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • March 12, 1910
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • The Review, June 1914

    • 1914-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • The Review, June 1907

    • 1907-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Reference Desk

    • 1960
    • A moment of giddiness is captured in this 1960 photograph of the Reference Room in Sacramento's Central Library at 828 "I" Street. The library was built in 1917/18 through 100,000 dollar grant from Scottish-American steel baron and philanthropist...
    • 900
    • Fourth Street, 900-904

    • 1960
    • A view of Fourth Street showing the Stark Club Tavern (900 Fourth Street), an adjoining coffee shop, and Hank's Barbershop (904 Fourth Street). The Southern Pacific depot is visible to the right.
    • 671
    • Spring at Charles C. Jensen Gardens, Carmichael, California

    • 1980
    • This circa 1980 postcard shows a prtion of the Charles C. Jensen Botanical Gardens, located at 8520 Fair Oaks Boulevard, Carmichael, California. The garden was founded in 1958, then becoming part of the Carmichael Recreation and Park District in...
    • BBSAC801

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK