Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Clubs and Fraternal Organizations
(123 results)



Display: 20

    • Order of AHEPA Dance

    •  
    • It's the third annual dance and entertainment for Sacramento Chapter No. 153 of the Order of AHEPA. Elks Hall is filled with the merrymakers who pose for a group picture. Smiles and stoic stares appear on the faces of the many males wearing ties...
    • 2004
    • Y.M.C.A. Gymnasium, Sacramento, Cal.

    •  
    • Several young men take in gymnastics activities at Sacramento's Fifth and J YMCA. The building, which included a pool, indoor track and basketball courts was built in 1913 for 160,000 dollars, and holds the distinction for having firebrand...
    • BBSAC814
    • Elk's Building, Sacramento, California - Edward H. Mitchell

    •  
    • The Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks was organized in New York early in 1868, originally comprised of thespians (actors) but soon open to all qualified potential members who believed in their stated goals. The name of the organization was...
    • BBSAC128
    • Souvenir Program Columbus Day Celebration

    • 1917
    • This 1917 Columbus Day souvenir program provides a list of dignitaries and performers during events organized to recognize both the holiday and the nation's then involvement in the First World War.
    • EC-COM-b01f03i01
    • Y.M.C.A. Gymnasium, Sacramento, Cal.

    •  
    • Several young men take in gymnastics activities at Sacramento's YMCA, located at Fifth and J Streets. Beginning in earnest in October 1866, the organization was instrumental in providing a safety net for a city's youth living in close proximity to...
    • BBSAC163
    • YMCA Lobby & Reading Room, Sacramento, Cal.

    •  
    • Members of Sacramento's YMCA rest, read and chat amidst the first floor of the organization's headquarters on Fifth and J Streets. Built in 1913, the building stood as the YMCA's home until 1950, when the group moved to Twentieth and W Streets. ...
    • BBSAC164
    • Fifth Street, Lincoln, Calif.

    • 1890
    • Show in circa 1890 is the Lincoln's Hotel Burdge, located at the corder of Fifth and G streets. To the left is the brick-clad Independent Order of Odd Fellows building while, to the right, is a general store. The hotel was built in 1883 for 5,500...
    • BBSAC729
    • Native Sons of the Golden West Parade on J Street

    • 1895
    • The Sacramento Parlor of the Native Sons of the Golden West is front and center, at Sixth and J Streets, in this September 9, 1895, photograph. Uniformed members march westward behind a banner that says “”NSGW – Sacramento Parlor.” Several...
    • 2378
    • Masonic Temple, Sacramento, Cal.

    • 1895
    • Shown in circa 1895, at the southwest corner of Sixth and K streets, is the Masonic Temple. Built in 1865 for 35,000 dollars, the structure served as the fifth meeting place of Sacramento Lodge number 40. Antebellum-style awnings that surrounded...
    • BBSAC146
    • Sacramento Boat Club, Sacramento, California

    • 1905
    • Shown in circa 1905 is the Sacramento Boat Club, moored along the western bank of the Sacramento River, near Broderick. The pictured boathouse was constructed in 1892 when the organization was known as the Undine Boat Club. By 1912, the...
    • BBSAC701
    • NSGW Celebration

    • 1905
    • This photograph of the entrance to the Native Sons of the Golden West (NSGW) celebration/festival in 1905 looks south at the corners of 2nd and I street, near the Southern Pacific depot. A Welcome N.S.G.W. sign and trolley car are visible in the...
    • 2377
    • Sunset Parlor on the March

    • 1906
    • This July 4, 1906, photograph shows the Sunset Parlor, also known at Parlor number 26, of the Native Sons of the Golden West, making their way through downtown Sacramento. Participants wore whitewashed uniforms, including white flannel shirts. A...
    • 2307
    • Lounging Room of the Elks Temple at Ninth and J Streets

    • 1907
    • Taken in circa 1907, this photograph reveals the lounging room of the Elks Temple at 824 J Street. The second floor room contains a piano, billiard table, gramophone and stuffed elk. The room also provided access to a balcony, allowing some of...
    • 736

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK